Shark Cupcakes

5 Aug

Shark Cupcakes 2
Like I mentioned yesterday, I love Shark Week. We go through the entire week ahead of time and DVR way too many shows then spend the week of glued to the TV once Noah goes to bed. It’s kind of ridiculous but I look forward to it every summer. And what makes Shark Week better? Cupcakes. Especially lightly fluffy cupcakes with wavy delicious cream cheese frostingĀ and a surprise center to fit the shark theme. And the chance to make homemade fondant for the shark fins!
Shark Cupcakes 1
The inspiration came from these adorable cupcakes I saw on Pinterest. Aren’t they adorable? But just wait until you bite inside. See, they are gory too. I kind of love it.
Shark Cupcakes 5
Because of the filling, I decided to keep the cake simple and go with my favorite white cake recipe. Once the cupcakes are cooled, cut out the center and fill. Rather than pipe the frosting on, I decided to slather the cupcakes with it then take a knife which I dipped in the frosting then quickly lifted to make it appear like choppy waves.
Shark Cupcakes 6
When it came to the fondant, I simply rolled it out and used a little template I drew to cut out the shark fins (make sure to use a sharp knife). And they would look even cuter dyed gray but I ran out of black food coloring and the nearest store that carries the gel colors I like is about 30 minutes each way and it was one of those “ain’t nobody got time for that” kind of days. So, alas, the fins are white but still pretty darn cute in my opinion.

I sent these to work with Joel and his coworkers probably think I have a weird obsession. And this post probably isn’t helping matters.
Shark Cupcakes 4
If you are a shark lover like me, whip these up, put on your stretchy yoga pants and settle on the couch for Shark Week.

Shark Cupcakes

1 recipe white cupcakes
1 (18 oz.) jar strawberry preserves*
1/4 recipe homemade fondant, rolled out and cut into fins

For the frosting:

1 stick butter, softened
1 (8 oz.) pkg. cream cheese
1 lb. powdered sugar (about 4 cups)
1-2 tsp. vanilla extract

1. Once cupcakes have cooled, cut out a hole in the center of the cupcakes (not all the way to the bottom). Fill with strawberry preserves.

2. For the frosting: whip together the butter and cream cheese. Slowly incorporate the powdered sugar. Add vanilla. Whip for a few minutes until frosting gets light and fluffy. Swirl in blue or teal food coloring to desired look (I left a little white throughout to look like the surf of the ocean).

3. Slather cupcakes with frosting and lift knife or spatula as you are swirling it on to make it appear like waves. Top with fondant shark fins and enjoy!

*I didn’t use the entire jar but got pretty close.

One Response to “Shark Cupcakes”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Holiday Baking Must Haves | Meg's Everyday Indulgence - December 11, 2013

    […] had to portion cookies in a different way. Not.Gonna.Happen. I love to use a big one for muffins or cupcakes too. Perfect! And what a fun stocking stuffer, just […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,638 other followers

