Blue Moon Cupcakes

2 Mar

Blue Moon Cupcakes
I’ve been an a huge cupcake kick lately. I made 3 different kinds of cupcakes in just a couple weeks (mind you they were for events but still it’s a bit excessive). They are just so fun and tasty and make a big impact with not much effort. When I saw these Blue Moon Cupcakes at one of my favorite blogs, Erica Sweet Tooth, I knew they would be perfect for our Super Bowl party last month. And they were a really big hit with everyone.

The cake was light and airy with a great hint of citrus. I couldn’t taste the beer in the cake but that was more than fine with me since I don’t like beer. I took Erica’s advice and poked holes in the cupcakes and brushed them with beer. I still didn’t taste it all that much but it made the tops moist and delicious.

Blue Moon Cupcakes
The frosting was amazing to say the least. I added even more orange zest than the recipe called for because I love the fresh flavor of orange and I knew it would be so tasty with the cream cheese. I’m not one of those people that love frosting so much they eat it with a spoon but this frosting….it could have happened. I will be keeping this frosting as a favorite recipe for cream cheese frosting (with or without the zest).

These are perfect for any get together, you have to give them a try!

Blue Moon Cupcakes
recipe from Erica Sweet Tooth

3/4 cups butter, at room temperature
1-3/4 cup sugar
2-1/2 cup flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3 eggs, at room temperature
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp orange zest
1 cup Blue Moon beer, plus more for brushing on tops
1/4 cup milk
Orange wedges and sanding sugar for garnish

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees and line 24 muffin tins with cupcake liners.

2. In a medium-sized bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt.

3. In the bowl of an electric mixer, beat together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy, about 2-3 minutes.

4. Add eggs, beating after each addition then add the vanilla and zest.

5. Combine milk and beer and alternatively add this mixture and the flour mixture to the butter/sugar mixture with the mixer on low speed, starting and ending with the flour.

6. Fill the cupcake liners 2/3 full and bake for 18 minutes, or until cake tester comes out clean.

7. When cupcakes are done, poke holes in the tops of the cupcakes with toothpicks and brush some beer on each while still warm.

For the citrus cream cheese frosting:
12 oz cream cheese, cold
6 tbsp butter, at room temperature
1 tbsp freshly squeezed orange juice
1 tsp orange zest
4 cups powdered sugar

1. Cream together the cream cheese and butter in an electric mixer until smooth and creamy, about 2-3 minutes.

2. Add the citrus juice and zest and gradually add the powdered sugar until well-combined.  Beat until smooth for about 2 minutes.

3. Load frosting in a piping bag fit with a large star tip and pipe cupcake tops once cooled.

Recipe yields 24 cupcakes.

Recipe linked to Mangia Monday, Totally Tasty Tuesday, Tempt My Tummy Tuesday, Cast Party Wednesday, What I Whipped Up Wednesday, Full Plate Thursday, Fusion Friday and Sweets for a Saturday.

5 Responses to “Blue Moon Cupcakes”

  1. Miz Helen March 4, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    Your Blue Moon Cupcakes are very special. They will sure have a great flavor with that beer. Hope you are having a great week end and thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

  2. Sue @ Cakeballs, cookies and more March 5, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    well they sound really great, I don’t like beer either, but if it’s in a cupcake, you can bet I will want it!

  3. Martha Tackett January 30, 2013 at 8:05 am #

    These sound great and are definitely going onto my to-do list. My son-in-law loves beer, so I am always looking for new ideas to bake for his birthday. I put an orange cream cheese icing on carrot cake and always make too much so that I can eat it! Thanks for sharing this recipe with us.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chocolate Guinness Cupcakes « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - March 14, 2012

    [...] can definitely taste the beer in the batter which surprised me since the Blue Moon Cupcakes I made last month didn’t leave a boozy flavor behind after baking. Probably because Guinness [...]

  2. Superbowl Roundup 2013 « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - January 30, 2013

    [...] Blue Moon Cupcakes – Beer, cupcakes, football. Yep. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,587 other followers

