Guacamole

16 Sep

Today is National Guacamole Day. I recently looked up food holidays and found that 2 foods on my Top 100 were “days” in September! Guacamole was one of them so I jumped at having a reason to whip some up.

Guacamole is another one of those foods that I thought I didn’t like and I’m not even sure that I have ever tried it. Lame. Turns out I do like it! I was looking around for recipes and found one by Alton Brown and knew I had hit the jackpot. He never lets me down!

I altered the recipe a bit by leaving out the tomatoes because Joel and I aren’t big fans but if you enjoy them I definitely think it would be a great addition. I also cut down on the amount of cayenne since a certain somebody in my house is kind of wimpy (I will list the original amount of cayenne in the recipe).

The lime juice and spices really make this a standout recipe that I will be making over and over again. I hope that you all will try it and have a Happy Guacamole Day!

Guacamole
recipe from Alton Brown

3 Haas avocados, halved, seeded and peeled
1 lime, juiced
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon cayenne
1/2 medium onion, diced
2 Roma tomatoes, seeded and diced
1 tablespoon chopped cilantro
1 clove  garlic, minced

In a large bowl place the scooped avocado pulp and lime juice, toss to coat. Drain, and reserve the lime juice, after all of the avocados have been coated. Using a potato masher add the salt, cumin, and cayenne and mash. Then, fold in the onions, tomatoes, cilantro, and garlic. Add 1 tablespoon of the reserved lime juice. Let sit at room temperature for 1 hour and then serve.

Linked to Friday Food, Fat Camp Friday, Mangia Monday’s , Tasty Tuesday, Recipe Sharing Monday, Tempt My Tummy Tuesday, Cast Party Wednesday, This Chick Cooks, Full Plate Thursday and Fusion Fridays.

7 Responses to “Guacamole”

  1. scarino September 19, 2011 at 12:02 am #

    I love the “National [some food] Days”! Occasionally, I make them up if I need a reason to cook something!

    Thanks for linking up with Friday Food on MomTrends.com!

    ~Shannon (Food Channel Editor @ MomTrends)

  2. cindy September 25, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    Nothing better than a big dish of guacamole and chips! Hubby loves this treat.

  3. Miz Helen September 26, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

    Guacamole is a staple food here, we just have to have it. Your recipe looks great and one that we would enjoy. Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday and hope you are having a great week!
    Come Back Soon,
    Miz Helen

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Super Bowl Roundup « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - February 3, 2012

    [...] Guacamole [...]

  2. Turkey Avocado Wraps « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - August 31, 2012

    [...] 1 whole wheat tortilla 3 slices deli turkey 1 slice of bacon, cooked crisp 1 slice cheddar cheese 3 Tbsp. guacamole [...]

  3. Roasted Garlic and Bacon Guacamole | Meg's Everyday Indulgence - February 28, 2014

    […] kind of addicted to guacamole so I knew it would be the perfect starter. I have a standard go-to guacamole but I wanted to spice things up and try one of the many fun, creative varieties that I have been […]

  4. Steak and Eggs with Gaucamole {aka my new fav dinner} | Meg's Everyday Indulgence - October 20, 2014

    […] ribeye steaks 2 egg 1/2 recipe guacamole hot sauce, […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,707 other followers

