Amish Sugar Cookies

I have no idea why these cookies are called Amish but I do know they are the best cookies on the planet. I know that’s a huge claim but they totally deserve it. I know they don’t look like much but trust me.
Amish Sugar Cookies 6
I’ve said many times that I’m much more of a savory than sweet person. I can eat a cookie and be good but chips, don’t leave me alone with the bag. These cookies are a totally different story. Somehow 4 simply disappear and all I’m left with is a few crumbs and sprinkles in my lap wondering what just happened. They just melt in your mouth.
Amish Sugar Cookies 5

Another good/bad thing, depending on your self control, is that this recipe makes a large batch. That means enough for to share and to gorge yourself. But seriously, these are great to feed a big crowd. Joel’s company has grown a ton since he started working there 2 1/2 years ago and I really like to surprise them with treats every once and awhile but it’s gotten hard to make something that can feed a group of them that’s still relatively easy for me. They routinely request these and these and guys, I like you and all but those are so not happening on the regular. These cookies are perfect for the occasion.

Amish Sugar Cookies 4
And who doesn’t love sugar cookies? So they will be a definite crowd pleaser. Also, bake sales. Do those still happen? If so, these are the cookies to make. I would buy them all. Then eat them all. And I wouldn’t regret it one bit.
Amish Sugar Cookies 3

Amish Sugar Cookies

1 cup butter., room temperature
1 cup vegetable oil
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup powdered sugar
2 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. cream of tartar
½ tsp. salt
4½ cups flour
sprinkles to garnish, optional

1.Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line several cookie sheets with parchment paper and set aside.

2. In a mixer, cream together the butter, oil and sugars. Add eggs, one at a time, then the vanilla.

3. Add in baking soda, cream of tarter and salt and mix until just combined. Mix in flour in increments and mix again until just combined.

4. Scoop cookies onto prepared baking sheets, top with sprinkles if desired and bake for 10-12 minutes until just barely golden on the edges (be careful not to overbake). Let cool for 3 minutes on baking sheet before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.

*recipe from Cookies and Cups

 

Leave a Reply

