Photo Friday

Noah’s first day of Kindergarten was on Wednesday. All of Tuesday I pretty much felt like I was going to vomit. Wednesday morning came and as he was hanging up his backpack in his classroom he told me, “this is the most exciting day ever.”
Noah 1

Although his excitement helped ease the sting, I still couldn’t keep it together. I knew he would be awesome but I just couldn’t get past the fact that a huge stage in his childhood is over. Gah, it still makes me teary. He’s not my little boy anymore and I won’t have the same time I had with him before. I heard this song while working out the day before school started and it totally resonated with how I was feeling and I did my best to not cry as I figured I’d get some pretty weird looks. untitled-1
“I close both of my eyes and say my thank yous to each and every moment….I go where I know the love is and let it fill me up inside gathering new strength from sorrow.”
Noah 3

“I pause, I take a breath, and bow and I let that chapter end.” Damn you Jason Mraz.

But I’m trying to focus on the positives, all he’s going to learn, the friendships he will make, his growing independence and the time I will have with Hannah. It was so quiet that first morning. Creepily so. But then we picked him up, got home and it was the usual utter chaos and I wondered why I hadn’t cherished that quiet time a little more.

We have quite a journey ahead and we’re all excited to see where it takes us!

Leave a Reply

