Garlic Butter Basted Ribeyes

Garlic Butter Basted Ribeyes 1
Did you live it up yesterday for Fat Tuesday? I’ve decided to go vegetarian this year for Lent so I totally did. I ate way too much buffalo chicken for lunch then I cooked these babies for dinner. They were glorious and I may have had to pull out the fat pants. I can’t believe I didn’t fit bacon into the day because now I’m going to be dreaming about it until Easter. Damn me for not thinking the day through. Big mistake.

And I have to admit something to you. Those carrots on the plate, they are only there for a pop of color. As soon as I was done with photos I put them back in the fridge. There was no way I was wasting room on them. Not this time.
Garlic Butter Basted Ribeyes 2
We normally grill steaks but the cold weather has struck again and there was no way that was going to happen. I recently saw Michael Symon prepare a steak in this manner on an episode of The Chew and knew I had to try his restaurant technique at home. Well, I’ve been brought to the fancy dark side. It was so butter, juicy, melt in your mouth delicious with just a hint of garlic flavor. So perfect for my last carnivorous meal for a while.
Garlic Butter Basted Ribeyes 3
Feel free to add any fresh herbs when you add the garlic and butter for even more flavor. I was planning to do this but Hannah and I both had fevers and weren’t feeling well so a run to the grocery store for some fresh herbs just wasn’t going to happen. I definitely see fresh thyme and rosemary in my future.

Garlic Butter Basted Ribeyes

2 (8 oz.) ribeyes
3 Tbsp. olive oil, divided
Kosher salt and pepper
3 Tbsp. butter
4 garlic cloves, peeled

1. Remove steaks from the fridge and let sit at room temperature for 30 minutes. Rub 1/2 tablespoon olive oil over each steak then sprinkle liberally with salt and pepper.

2. Heat a skillet (preferably cast iron) over medium high heat and add the remaining 2 tablespoons olive oil. Add steaks and sear for 2 minutes (do not move them). Flip the steak and add the butter and garlic to the pan. Baste steak constantly for 3 minutes. Depending on thickness, cook for a few minutes longer. Remove from skillet to a cutting board and let rest for 10 minutes to allow juices to redistribute.

One thought on “Garlic Butter Basted Ribeyes

  1. Pingback: Buttermilk and Feta Mashed Potatoes | Meg's Everyday Indulgence

Leave a Reply

