Pumpkin Pecan Streusel Pie

Pumpkin Pecan Streusel Pie
Yesterday  we hosted a Fakesgiving (fake Thanksgiving) at my house for my parents and brother to celebrate together since we are traveling to my in-laws for Thanksgiving this year. I originally planned on doing a scaled-down meal but I just can’t leave well enough alone and ended up with a big ‘ole dinner instead. Noah’s been dying for some pumpkin pie so we whipped this up together the night before.

I wanted to fancy up our pie a bit and you all should know by now that I kind of have a thing for streusel (as evidenced here, here and here….) so when I saw this recipe, I just had to give it a try. I tweaked the recipe a bit and used store-bought pie crusts instead of making my own. The original recipe made a homemade crust in a springform pan for an ultra-deep dish pie and well, as good as that sounded I just didn’t want to go there. I also replaced the walnuts with pecans because that’s what I had in my freezer.
Pumpkin Pecan Streusel Pie
I’ve eaten a many pumpkin pies in my life but this was my first homemade one and I have to say, it was quite delicious. The addition of the pecan streusel gave a nice texture that pumpkin pie usually lacks.

And the added bonus is that this recipe makes 2 pies so you can keep one for yourself and give one away. Noah’s teachers are going to have a pumpkin pie surprise tomorrow!

Pumpkin Pecan Streusel Pie
recipe adapted from Sprinkle Bakes
yields 2 9-inch deep dish pies

2 9-inch deep dish pie crusts
1 1/4 cups packed light brown sugar
3/4 teaspoon fine salt
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
4 eggs, lightly beaten
29 ounces (one large can) pure pumpkin puree
12 ounces (one can) evaporated milk
1/2 cup heavy cream
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

For the pecan streusel:
1/2 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
¼ cup all-purpose flour
½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
Pinch of salt
6 tablespoons cold unsalted butter
1 cup chopped pecans

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. For the streusel: combine the brown sugar, flour, cinnamon, salt and pecans. Cut in the butter until it resembles course sand. Refrigerate until ready for use.

2. For the filling: in a mixing bowl, combine brown sugar, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and pumpkin pie spice. In another bowl, mix the eggs, pumpkin, evaporated milk, heavy cream and vanilla. Gradually stir in dry ingredients until just mixed. Divide the filling evenly between the two pie crust. Cover crust with foil and bake for 40 minutes. Top with streusel and bake for another 10-20 minutes, or until pie is set but still a bit wobbly in the center. Cool to room temperature then cover and refrigerate overnight.

 

Leave a Reply

