Homemade Ketchup {Clean Eating}

Homemade Ketchup 1
One of the hardest things for me when I started making eating clean a priority was condiments. I love dip, you may even call it an addiction. Although ketchup is never my first choice in condiments (gasp, how un-American of me) it is necessary during grilling season for burgers and hot dogs!
Homemade Ketchup 5
To try out a clean ketchup, I turned to one of my favorite healthy food blogs Skinny Taste. The sugar or corn syrup usually present in ketchup is replaced by a bit of honey. And a major plus is every single ingredient is a pantry staple so I can whip up a batch any time we need it. It’s not quite as sweet as store-bought ketchup but you I don’t think you’ll miss it.
Homemade Ketchup 3
Homemade Ketchup
recipe from Skinny Taste

6 oz. can tomato paste
1/4 cup honey
1/2 cup white vinegar
1/4 cup water
1 tsp. sugar
3/4 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. onion powder
1/8 tsp. garlic powder

Whisk all ingredients together in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer and cook for 20 minutes. Remove from heat, cover and let cool. Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator.
Homemade Ketchup 2

One thought on “Homemade Ketchup {Clean Eating}

  1. Pingback: Cheeseburger Quesadillas | Meg's Everyday Indulgence

Leave a Reply

