Penne Gorgonzola

Penne Gorgonzola
This past weekend, we took Noah to see his first movie in the theater. We saw Frozen and it was the cutest animated movie we have seen in a really long time (besides Despicable Me, I love those dang minions). It might seem silly but I found myself tearing up during the movie, watching him snuggle daddy and stick his hand in the giant tub of popcorn. It was a special little date for the three of us and I really enjoyed it. He is growing up way too fast and I don’t like it. Not one bit. Mmmkay?
Penne Gorgonzola
I don’t have a good transition to the recipe so I apologize for that but I just had to share about our movie date.

Whenever we go out to an Italian restaurant, if Penne Gorgonzola is on the menu I almost always order it. I’m a sucker for a creamy, cheese drenched pasta and it was never something I thought about making myself. Well, until now.
Penne Gorgonzola
I reduced the amount of gorgonzola because I only had a 5 ounce container but it ended up being a good thing. I think any more would have been too strong for us…it was the perfect amount of strong, stinky cheese for this household.
Penne Gorgonzola
This recipe is simple and can be made in less than 30 minutes but is still fancy enough to serve to company. Or you husband and three year old. Then said three year old will find the big jar of sprinkles when you have your back turned and add a nice helping to his plate. Then luckily you will turn around before he gets to the rest of the plates. I always thought sprinkles made everything better but penne gorgonzola…not so much.
Penne Gorgonzola
I hope you try this recipe out soon. Sprinkles optional.

Penne Gorgonzola
recipe from Taste of Home

1 pound boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 large garlic clove, minced
1/4 cup white wine
1 cup heavy whipping cream
1/4 cup chicken broth
5 oz. crumbled Gorgonzola cheese
6 to 8 fresh sage leaves, thinly sliced
Salt and pepper to taste

1. Cook pasta according to package directions. Meanwhile, in a large skillet over medium heat, brown chicken in oil on all sides. Add garlic; cook 1 minute longer. Add wine, stirring to loosen browned bits from pan.

2. Add cream and broth; cook until sauce is slightly thickened and chicken is no longer pink. Stir in the Gorgonzola cheese, sage, salt and pepper; cook just until cheese is melted.

3. Drain pasta; toss with sauce. Sprinkle with Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese and parsley

Leave a Reply

