Black Peppercorn Marinade

Black Pepper Marinade 2
I kind of have a thing for marinades. Not only do they impart amazing flavor on whatever soaks in it but it usually means dinner is going to be really easy. Total win. I especially love marinades when grilling season is in full swing. All I have to do is mix up a few ingredients then toss in whatever protein then make a simple side salad or veggie and dinner is served.

There is a black peppercorn marinade packet that my parents have always bought and I just love it. I literally put pepper on everything and a lot of it. I was thinking about this marinade recently and decided that I would try to make a homemade version. I grabbed a bunch of ingredients to wing it and see how it came together. It didn’t taste just like the packet but it was really delicious! A little zing from the vinegar, a tang from the Dijon and a spicy kick from all that pepper! It’s my new official summer marinade.
Black Pepper Marinade 3
I used this on chicken but I imagine it would be equally to die for on a steak. I marinated my chicken for 4 hours then grilled it and served it alongside some roasted sweet potatoes. It would be so delicious atop a salad too for a quick, easy and healthy lunch.

Black Peppercorn Marinade

1/2 tsp. kosher salt
1 Tbsp. peppercorns
2 Tbsp. coarse freshly ground pepper
1 Tbsp. Dijon mustard
1/2 cup olive oil
1/4 cup red wine vinegar
2-3 garlic cloves, finely minced

Place all ingredients in a mason jar or other container with a tight fitting lid and shake until thoroughly mixed. Marinate chicken, steak or pork for t 1 -4 hours.

Leave a Reply

