Buttermilk Pancakes

Buttermilk Pancakes 5
I’ve made my fair share of pancakes but these guys are the.best.ever. Seriously, they are even better than Cinnamon Streusel Pancakes. Now you really know that I mean business because there aren’t many things better than streusel in my book.
Buttermilk Pancakes 1
I know buttermilk pancakes may seem humble and even a bit boring to most but sometimes it’s nice to just keep things simple and perfect. Like cheesecake for example, why all the crazy mix-ins? I like mine plain with a little fresh strawberry sauce…no need to be adding peanut butter, chocolate, cookie dough, pretzel madness for me. Sorry for the rant but some things are just better left alone. Anyway, back to the pancakes…
Buttermilk Pancakes 3
I don’t mean to go overboard here but it was like I had entered a dream world as I watched these pancakes puff up to incredible heights while cooking on the griddle. I mean, look at them!

Buttermilk Pancakes 6
I’ve never made or eaten such fluffy pancakes. And I will never, eva make any other version of buttermilk pancakes. Just a bit of butter and a pool of pure maple syrup atop these bad boys. Heaven.

Buttermilk Pancakes
recipe from America’s Test Kitchen

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 Tbsp. sugar
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
2 cups buttermilk
1/4 cup sour cream (or plain Greek yogurt)
2 large eggs
3 Tbsp. unsalted butter, melted and cooled slightly

1. In a medium bowl, mix together all the dry ingredients. In a second bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, sour cream, eggs and butter. Make a well in the bowl with the dry ingredients and pour in the liquid mixture. Carefully fold wet and dry ingredients together being careful not to overmix the batter. It will be lumpy. Let the batter sit for 10 minutes.

2. Meanwhile, preheat a griddle or skillet over medium heat. Spray the griddle with non-stick cooking spray. Drop batter by 1/4 cupful’s and watch for bubbles and for the edges to set. Flip then cook for another minute or two, until golden brown. Enjoy!
Buttermilk Pancakes 4

2 thoughts on “Buttermilk Pancakes

  1. Pingback: My 3 Year Blogaversary | Meg's Everyday Indulgence

  2. Pingback: Whole Wheat Banana Pancakes | Meg's Everyday Indulgence

Leave a Reply

