Pistachio Chocolate Chip Cookies {Christmas Tray 2012}

Pistachio Chocolate Chip Cookies
Joel’s favorite cookie is the humble chocolate chip. I totally get it but as a food blogger it sometimes pains me to make them for him. They are just so plain and I am always trying to find ways to jazz them up because I just can’t leave well enough alone. I give in sometimes and simply make our old standby but for the Christmas tray, I just couldn’t do the standard ole’ thing. But because they are a favorite in our house, we had to have some kind of chocolate chip studded cookie. I searched through my millions of saved recipes and found these. The perfect compromise.

I love pistachios and since they are green, they are totally Christmas-y. Got it? Now if only I could find a way to make broccoli all Christmas-y, then we would be in business…but it wouldn’t be as much fun or nearly as delicious. Who needs veggies anyway?
Pistachio Chocolate Chip Cookies
The recipe uses a pistachio pudding mix to impart the delicious flavor and in addition, it adds an undeniable moist, chewy texture to the cookies. I can absolutely get behind chocolate chip cookies of this variety. And I know at Christmastime, I get all worked up trying be all fancy pants so it’s nice to have a simple and tasty recipe that can be whipped together in minutes to fill in the holes on that lovely tray!

Pistachio Chocolate Chip Cookies
recipe from The Baking Pan

3¼ cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 small package (3.4 ounces) pistachio flavored instant pudding mix
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature (I used butter flavored shortening)
2 large eggs
2 tablespoons milk
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
¼ cup toasted walnuts or pecans, coarsely chopped (optional)
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Prepare 2 large baking sheets: lightly grease with shortening or line with parchment paper, or line with a non-stick baking mat.

2. In a medium mixing bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt and pudding mix; whisk together to mix. Set aside.

3. In a large bowl of an electric mixer, combine sugar and butter; cream together until mixture appears light and fluffy. Scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl with a rubber spatula so the mixture blends evenly. Add eggs; beat until thoroughly mixed. Stir in milk and vanilla. Add sifted flour mixture; stir until mixed. Add walnuts and chocolate chips; stir to mix.

4. Drop dough by rounded teaspoonfuls 2 inches apart onto baking sheets. Bake 10 to 12 minutes or just until cookies are set and edges are very lightly browned. Remove cookies from baking sheets with a metal spatula and place on a wire cooling rack to cool.

One thought on “Pistachio Chocolate Chip Cookies {Christmas Tray 2012}

  1. This looks yummy 🙂 I can make this for Thanksgiving instead. I bet my kids would love them. I really love your previous posts that are also in line with the Christmas season. I’ll definitely make those too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

