Quinoa Salad with Black Beans and Corn

Quinoa Salad
Do any of you have one of those foods that your significant other just won’t eat? No matter what you do? Quinoa is one of those things that Joel will not go for in any shape or form. I knew the Quinoa Black Bean Patties would not go over well with my carnivore husband but I went for it anyway. I thought maybe a Quinoa Salad would be a middle ground that he possibly enjoy. Well, he still didn’t give it a try. I should have known when there was leftover macaroni and cheese in the fridge.
Quinoa Salad

Well I enjoyed this very much. I was originally just planning on mixing in the corn and beans but then I saw a cucumber in the fridge and thought it might be a good addition. Turns out that it totally made the salad for me. This was so simple to throw together and consisted of ingredients I always have on hand. Plus, it’s good for you so it can’t get much better than that!

Quinoa Salad with Black Beans and Corn

1 cup quinoa, uncooked
2 cups water
1 (15 oz.) can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 (15 oz.) can corn, drained
1/2 English cucumber, peeled and sliced thinly into half moons
6 Tbsp. Italian dressing (I like light balsamic vinaigrette)
1/4-1/2 cup crumbled feta

1. Rinse quinoa thoroughly in a fine mesh strainer. Meanwhile, bring the water to a boil. Add quinoa, reduce to medium and boil, covered, for 12 minutes or until water is evaporated. Remove from heat, fluff and let sit with lid for 15 minutes.

2. Place cooked quinoa in a bowl and allow to cool.

3. Once cool, mix in black beans, corn, cucumber, Italian dressing and feta. Refrigerate.

Leave a Reply

