Spicy Crab in Cucumber Cups

Spicy Crab in Cucumber Cups
I am starting my first vegetable garden this week. I gathered a lot of information in hopes that I will be successful in the square foot garden method. I don’t usually have much luck keeping plants alive so I am really hoping I can do it this time. I am going to attempt to grow zucchini, broccoli, cauliflower, green beans, lettuce, carrots, onions and cucumbers.

Hopefully the cucumbers will at least survive so I can make more of these because they were a huge hit. They were creamy and refreshing…the perfect summer appetizer! I love the cucumber cup idea and am thinking of what else I could stuff in there.
Spicy Crab in Cucumber Cups
Spicy Crab in Cucumber Cups
recipe from Domestic Fits

3 long cucumbers
1/4 cup sour cream
1/4 cup cream cheese, softened
3/4 cup crab meat, excess water removed
1 tsp hot pepper sauce (Tabasco or tapito)
1 tsp brown mustard
Salt and pepper to taste
1 Tbsp. minced green onion
Garnish with chili powder or paprika if desired

1. Remove the peel from the cucumbers using a vegetable peeler. Cut the cucumber into 2 inch slices. Using a small melon baller, scoop out most of the inside. You want to leave the walls and a thick portion of the bottom intact.

2. In a bowl, combine the sour cream and the cream cheese with a fork until well combined. add the remaining ingredients and stir until combined. Fill each of the cucumber cups with the crab dip. Refrigerate until ready to serve. Serve within 2 hours of making (this is important becuase they get runny and soggy after awhile).

Recipe linked to Mangia Monday, Totally Tasty Tuesday, Tasty Tuesday, Tempt My Tummy Tuesday and Cast Party Wednesday.

One thought on “Spicy Crab in Cucumber Cups

  1. Pingback: Lady Behind the Curtain » Menu & Party Idea Round Up-Cast Party #39

Leave a Reply

