Cherry Chip Cookies {12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies}

When I was at the grocery store recently, I came across some mini cherry chips. I don’t know about everybody else, but anything miniature is so cute and pretty much irristable. I have never made anything with cherry chips and didn’t even know of any recipes but it was just automatic to purchase them. I had put them in the cart before my brain even realized what I was doing. They sat in my pantry for awhile and I still hadn’t thought of anything to make with them.

While I was browsing some of my favorite food blogs, I came across an awesome idea from Barbara Bakes, the 12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies. Every week for 12 weeks before Christmas, she posted a cookie recipe. Isn’t that a great idea! Well, I was inspired and decided to give it a go. I knew these would be the perfect ingredient for some festive little cookies so for week 1 I am brining you Cherry Chip Cookies.  

These had a wonderful light and crispy texture with a bit of chewiness to them. Since these cookies are tiny, they would be a great little filler on your Christmas cookie trays. The perfect addition to your Christmas baking list.

Cherry Chip Cookies
recipe adapted from recipetips.com

1 cup margarine
1 cup powdered sugar
3/4 teaspoon almond extract
1 3/4 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup cherry chips

1. Preheat the oven to 350°F.
2. Combine the margarine, powdered sugar and vanilla in a mixing bowl and beat until light and fluffy.
3. Add the flour and baking soda. Mix until well blended.
4. Add cherry chips and stir until well distributed.
5. On an ungreased cookie sheet, drop rounded teaspoons of dough, leaving at least an inch between to allow for spreading. Slightly flatten each cookie with the back of a spoon. Note: A rounded teaspoon makes a fairly small cookie. If a larger cookie is desired, use approximately 50% more dough.
6. Place in the preheated oven and bake for 8 to 9 minutes (11 to 13 minutes for larger cookies).
7. Remove from the oven and allow cookies to set on cookie sheet for 1 to 2 minutes to firm up slightly before removing. Remove and place on a wire rack to cool.

Recipe linked to these wonderful link parties:
Cast Party Wednesday
These Chicks Cooked
Recipe Sharing Monday
Mangia Monday
Mouthwatering Monday
Totally Tasty Tuesday
Tasty Tuesday
Tempt My Tummy Tuesday
What I Whipped Up Wednesday
Holiday Sweet Swap
Full Plate Thursday
Sweets This Week
Friday Food
Fusion Friday
Two Maids a Baking

5 thoughts on “Cherry Chip Cookies {12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies}

  1. Pingback: 12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies Roundup « Meg's Everyday Indulgence

Leave a Reply

