Lemony Greek Potatoes

I never thought that I liked lemon on anything savory. Well, this little blog has given me the inspiration and courage to go outside my food comfort zone and I’m sure glad I did because it turns out I do like lemon on other dishes besides dessert.

These potatoes were just lemony enough without being overpowering. Combined with the olive oil, oregano and parsley they became the perfect compliment to the grilled pork souvlaki and tzatziki I made.

The original recipe called for double the vinaigrette, using 2/3 of it to drizzle on top but we like our potatoes super crispy so I decided to skip the drizzling after baking so I cut the vinaigrette recipe in half and only used 1/4 cup of chicken stock. The chicken stock helps keep them moist while the oil crisps them up. Oooh, and I got to use my fresh herbs which made these potatoes extra delectable.

Lemony Greek Potatoes
recipe adapted from foodnetwork.com

3/4 cup olive oil
3 Tbsp. lemon juice
1/2 large shallot, diced
2 garlic cloves, minced
2 Tbsp. chopped fresh oregano
1 Tbsp. chopped fresh Italian parsley
Salt and freshly ground pepper
3 lbs. large russet potatoes, each cut lengthwise into 6 wedges
1/4 cup chicken stock

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.
2. Whisk olive oil, lemon juice, shallots, garlic, oregano and parsley in a medium bowl to blend; season with salt and pepper.
3. Toss potatoes with the vinaigrette in a large, rimmed baking sheet. Pour chicken stock around potatoes and roast for 45 minutes, turning occasionally until golden brown.

Recipe linked to Recipe Sharing Monday by Jam Hands, Mouthwatering Monday, Full Plate Thursday , This Chick Cooks and Fat Camp Fridays.

7 thoughts on “Lemony Greek Potatoes

  1. I love anything “Greek” and your potatoes sound fantastic. I’m sure they were absolutely delicious with your souvlaki. I’ve never had it with pork….only chicken. I’m off to look at that dish now. Thanks for sharing! Have a great weekend!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Grilled Pork Souvalki with Tzatziki « Meg's Everyday Indulgence

  3. Pingback: Garlicky Baked Fries « Meg's Everyday Indulgence

  4. Pingback: Lemon Dill Chicken Skewers « Meg's Everyday Indulgence

Leave a Reply

