Kentucky Grilled Chicken

DSC_0051
I love chicken. If I had to chose only one protein to eat for the rest of my life it would be chicken without a doubt. Therefore, I am always looking for new and tasty ways to prepare it. As I was looking through my mom’s cookbook collection I came across this recipe for Kentucky Grilled Chicken and knew it would be a great healthy summer meal.

It was incredibly moist and tender from the vinegar in the marinade. The Worcesershire and hot pepper sauce combine to give it just enough flavor but if you like things spicy, I would recommend doubling the hot pepper sauce.
DSC_0047
I chose to use chicken legs because that is what we had and marinated them all day for even more flavor. I prefer white meat so I will be trying it with the bone-in chicken breasts next time around. Serve with a crisp green salad or grilled corn on the cob!

Kentucky Grilled Chicken
recipe from Taste of Home Comfort Food Diet Cookbook

½ cup cider vinegar
¼ cup canola oil
2 ½ tsp. Worcestershire sauce
2 tsp. hot pepper sauce
1 tsp. salt
5 bone-in chicken breast halves

1. In a small bowl, combine the first five ingredients; mix well. Pour 1 cup of the marinade in a large ziplock bag; add the chicken. Seal bag and turn to coat; refrigerate for at least 4 hours. Cover and refrigerate the remaining marinade for basting.

2. Coat grill rack with cooking spray before starting to grill. Drain and discard marinade from chicken. Grill bone side down, covered, over indirect medium heat for 20 minutes. Turn; grill 20-30 minutes longer or until juices run clear, basting occasionally with reserved marinade.

Leave a Reply

