Lime Soda

I wanted to make something simple, delicious and a little different in honor of Cinco de Mayo and this was just perfect.  I was watching Cooking for Real yesterday and saw this recipe made.  I never considered making my own soda which is quite bizarre now that I think about it seeing that I am kind of a soda addict.  It’s my caffeine fix of choice and I usually need one to get myself moving.  I know this is a bad habit I need to break and did when I was pregnant but I fell off the wagon shortly after having my son.  Luckily, this recipe is caffeine free.

This was really refreshing and light but I personally think it would be better with more lime juice for more tartness. Or maybe use less of the simple syrup.  My husband stirred in some cherry grenadine to make a cherry limeade and he preferred it that way.  I also think some crushed mint would be a delicious addition…like a virgin mojito.

This could be changed up in so many yummy ways.  I think I will try it with orange next time.  Doesn’t that sound refreshing?

Lime Soda

1 cup sugar
3/4 cup water
1/4 cup lime juice, plus rind from 1 lime
6 to 8 drops green food coloring
4 cups ice
1 liter club soda or seltzer
4 lime slices, for garnish

1. In a small pot on medium heat dissolve sugar in water. Raise the heat, add the lime rind and bring to a boil. Lower the heat to a simmer and cook until slightly reduced. Remove from heat and discard the lime rinds. Stir in the food coloring and cool.
2. Fill 4 glasses with ice and distribute the lime syrup and lime juice, to taste, into each glass. Top with seltzer and stir. Garnish with lime slices.

Recipe linked to Everyday Sisters here and here.

One thought on “Lime Soda

  1. Pingback: My 3 Year Blogaversary | Meg's Everyday Indulgence

Leave a Reply

