Chocolate Chip Cookies

I don’t plan on posting every day but this one is for good reason.  Yesterday my husband’s great aunt passed away.  She made some of the greatest cookies I have ever eaten.  So to honor her, I made chocolate chip cookies.  It was also in hopes of making my husband feel a little better.  So here’s to Aunt Donna.

This recipe is basically Nestle Toll House with a few adjustments to fit our tastes.  Like I said before, we aren’t huge chocolate fans so I reduce the amount of chocolate chips and make them mini…cause it’s more fun!  I also use butter flavored Crisco instead of regular butter.  How could you go wrong with Crisco?  It makes them soft, chewy and oh so delicious.

I bake them for exactly 9 minutes.  I always have and they turn out amazingly.  Maybe it’s superstition or maybe it is just the perfect amount of time, either way I go with it.

I make half the batch with nuts and half without (my husband is not a fan).

I also got to use one of my most prized kitchen gadgets, my Pampered Chef cookie scoop.  I love it….I know it’s silly but I do!

This recipe can also be changed up very easily. Try substituting orange extract for the vanilla, throw in some orange zest and change out the semi-sweet chips for dark chocolate. Raspberry extract with white chocolate…the possiblities are endless!

Chocolate Chip Cookies

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1 heaping tsp. salt
1 cup butter flavored Crisco
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2 eggs
1/2 – 3/4 cup mini chocolate chips, we prefer semi-sweet
1 cup walnuts, chopped (optional)

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
2. Combine flour, baking soda and salt in a small bowl.
3. Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla until light and fluffy.
4. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.
5. Gradually mix in dry ingredients.
6. Stir in chocolate chips and nuts.
7. Bake for 9 minutes, or until golden brown. Keep remaining dough refrigerated while cookies are baking.
8. Cool on baking sheet for a minute or so then remove to wire rack to cool completely.  Yields about 28 cookies.

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I am sorry for the loss of aunt donna. May she rest in peace. And i cant think of anything better than baking cookies in her memory. 🙂 I’ve never used cisco for baking cookies before, but sounds like its worth a try!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Pistachio Chocolate Chip Cookies {Christmas Tray 2012} « Meg's Everyday Indulgence

Leave a Reply

