Smoked Gouda and Sharp Cheddar Macaroni and Cheese

30 Jan

Smoked Gouda and Sharp Cheddar Macaroni and Cheese

Ok, so I know I have been talking about how I’ve been eating super healthy lately but I keep sharing recipes that say otherwise. Well, that’s because most of the healthy recipes I’ve tried have just not been blog worthy. Blah, do you guys have any healthy meals that taste really good? I’ve been striking out.

What I really want is to stuff my face with a bowl of this cheesy goodness. For real. I actually made it a few months ago but I’m still dreaming about it.
Smoked Gouda and Sharp Cheddar Macaroni and Cheese

Cheese is one of my favorite things and could pretty much be its own food group in our house. I love a classic cheddar and reach for it almost every time I’m making something cheesy. That being said, I don’t really discriminate and gouda is one of my favorites to mix it up. So naturally when I saw this recipe I knew it HAD to happen.

I saved this recipe for when my cheese loving family came over for dinner. Well, everyone loves cheese but my dad and we all thinks it’s just wrong. So we make cheesy things anyway. We always make sure there is something he likes so don’t worry that the poor man’s taste buds get ignored. But seriously, not liking cheese is beyond my comprehension.

This mac-n-cheese is smoky, cheesy, creamy, sharp and delicious. It would be so yummy with a pulled pork sandwich during the Super Bowl. Gah, I may have to change my menu to include it. So good.

P.S. shout out to my niece Faith who is 5 today! Happy Birthday you sassy girl!

Smoked Gouda and Sharp Cheddar Macaroni and Cheese
recipe from Just a Dash

4 cups dried macaroni
1 egg beaten
4 Tbsp. butter
¼ cups all-purpose flour
2-½ cups fat-free half and half
2 teaspoons dry mustard
⅓ pound smoked gouda
½ pound cheddar cheese
¼ pound  sharp cheddar
½ teaspoons salt
½ teaspoons ground black pepper

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2. Cook macaroni until very firm. Drain and rinse with cool water.

3. Grate all of the cheese, reserve.

4. In a large pot, melt butter and sprinkle in flour. Whisk together over medium-low heat. Cook mixture for five minutes, whisking constantly. Don’t let it burn.

5. Slowly whisk in the milk and dry mustard. Once all cream has been incorporated cook until very thick. Reduce heat to low.

6. In a small bowl, beat egg.Take 1/4 cup of the sauce and slowly pour it into beaten egg, whisking constantly to avoid cooking the eggs.

7. Pour egg mixture into sauce, whisking constantly. Stir until smooth and uniform in color.

8. Add in all but 1 cup of cheese and stir until melted, then stir in salt and pepper. Taste sauce and add more seasoning if desired. Mix should taste salty, add more salt if needed. Add back in drained, cooked macaroni and stir to combine. Pour mix into a greased baking dish, top with remaining cheese and bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until bubbly and golden on top.
Smoked Gouda and Sharp Cheddar Macaroni and Cheese

One Response to “Smoked Gouda and Sharp Cheddar Macaroni and Cheese”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thai Sweet Chili Broccoli | Meg's Everyday Indulgence - April 22, 2014

    […] kinds of naughty things that I haven’t had in months. Like peanut butter bars, cucumber dip, mac-n-cheese, corn casserole and a cherry coke or two. Needless to say, I felt very sick […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,709 other followers

