Cheesy Broccoli Bites

24 Jan

Cheesy Broccoli Bites
On our quest for healthier eating, I have been looking for recipes that are lighter but still have enough heft to fill us up and keep the boys happy. I personally love steamed broccoli and would eat it everyday but Joel thinks it tastes like dirt. He is totally for it though when slathered with cheese.

Speaking of cheese and healthy, I don’t know about you but I have never been and never will be down with low fat/fat free cheese. It’s just not right. I would rather have no cheese at all. I’m fine with other light products like sour cream, milk, mayo, even cream cheese or ricotta but cheddar…no way, won’t do it.
Cheesy Broccoli Bites
I’ve had my eye on these cheesy broccoli bites for quite awhile but just never got around to making them until now. And now I’m kicking myself for taking so long to try them. They are a fun, healthy and delicious way to eat your veggies. The cheese melts into gooey goodness and the outside gets crispy.

And they got the approval of both boys. I’m thinking of trying them with cauliflower next time. I have a feeling these will be gracing our table very often.
Cheesy Broccoli Bites
Cheesy Broccoli Bites
recipe adapted from Stacey Snacks
yields 9

8 oz. fresh broccoli, lightly steamed and chopped
1/2 cup seasoned panko breadcrumbs
3/4 cup sharp cheddar cheese
1 egg
1 egg white

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment. Thoroughly combine all the ingredients and form patties, 1/4 cup each. Place on parchment.

2. Bake for 12 minutes, flip then bake another 12 minutes.
Cheesy Broccoli Bites

One Response to “Cheesy Broccoli Bites”

  1. Sue January 24, 2014 at 9:07 pm #

    Trying these tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,677 other followers

