Pretzel Crusted Chicken with Mustard Cheddar Sauce

10 Jan

Pretzel Crusted Chicken with Mustard Cheddar Sauce
Pretzels are one of Noah and my favorite snacks so there is always a big ‘ole jar of them sitting on the counter. When I saw this recipe, I knew it had to be in my life. Pronto.

Chicken? Pretzels? Cheese? This is totally up my alley. I made this a few week ago and it was glorious. The crunchy pretzels coating juicy chicken was good enough but then top it with a cheesy mustard sauce? Delish.
Pretzel Crusted Chicken with Mustard Cheddar Sauce
I am totally drooling because since making this I have embarked on a pretty strict diet to lose this baby weight. Womp womp. It actually hasn’t been too bad. I’m using the My Fitness Pal app on my phone to track my calories (1410/day) and exercise. I am a major visual person and love lists so it really helps me to see it all written down. And knowing that something is going to be tracked and calories calculated makes me think twice about what I eat. I just started on Sunday but I haven’t gone over my caloric count yet but it’s been hard. I’m hoping this diet will result in a lifestyle change with mostly clean eating around here.

I’ve been trying out a lot of new smoothie recipes so I will be sharing those with you all soon.
Pretzel Crusted Chicken with Mustard Cheddar Sauce
But back to this chicken….you have to make it. A piece of it would be worth having to eat spinach the rest of the day.

Pretzel Crusted Chicken with a Mustard-Cheddar  Sauce
recipe from Taste and Tell
serves 4

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
about 6 ounces of salted pretzels
salt and pepper
2 eggs
vegetable oil

Mustard Cheddar Sauce:
1 tablespoon butter
1 tablespoon flour
1 cup milk
1 tablespoon spicy mustard
2 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese

1. Slice each chicken breast in half (horizontally to make them thin), making a total of 4 thin chicken breasts.  Place each chicken breast in between plastic wrap and whack with a mallet to flatten slightly.

2. Place pretzels in a food processor and process until you have fine crumbs.  Put the crumbs in a shallow dish and season with salt and pepper.  In another shallow dish, beat the eggs.

3. In a large saute pan over medium heat, heat up the oil, about 1/8″ deep.

4. Dip each chicken piece into the pretzels, then eggs, then back into the pretzels. Carefully place chicken into the hot oil and cook until browned and the chicken is cooked through (about 3-4 minutes per side).

5. Meanwhile, make the sauce.  In a saucepan, melt the butter.  Whisk in the flour and cook for 1 minute.  Whisk in the milk and the mustard, and cook until slightly thickened.  Stir in the cheese.  Season with salt and pepper, if needed.

6. Serve the chicken with the Mustard-Cheddar Sauce.

7 Responses to “Pretzel Crusted Chicken with Mustard Cheddar Sauce”

  1. brickgowen January 10, 2014 at 9:50 am #

    Hey Megan :) Did you forget to include the directions for making the chicken? It could be my phone but I’m not seeing them. Looks delicious!

    • Meg's Everyday Indulgence January 10, 2014 at 10:07 am #

      Wow, totally spaced including them. Sorry! Can I blame it on sleep deprivation? Hope you enjoy it, it’s so yummy.

  2. brickgowen January 10, 2014 at 9:51 am #

    Are there directions for the chicken? Looks delicious?

  3. AB January 10, 2014 at 9:49 pm #

    I use myfitnesspal too – do you happen to know the calorie count for this? Looks yummy!!

    • Meg's Everyday Indulgence January 10, 2014 at 10:19 pm #

      Awesome! I don’t know the calorie count…I’m sure it’s ugly, haha!

      • AB January 11, 2014 at 7:03 am #

        Haha but worth it I’m sure :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What I’m Eating Lately | Meg's Everyday Indulgence - January 16, 2014

    […] talked about losing the baby weight on Friday so I thought I might give a little insight to what I’m eating lately to keep on […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,680 other followers

