Shredded Beef {For Tacos, Burritos and Such}

7 Jan

Shredded Beef
Growing up, I always thought my mom made the best tacos ever…and guess what? I still do. They are one of my favorite things she makes. This is THE shredded beef that makes those tacos so glorious. I never order tacos at a Mexican restaurant because they just never compare to hers and I am always left disappointed (same goes for lasagna, hers is bomb). Whenever she goes home to visit, this is the number one meal request for her to make.
Shredded Beef
And this shredded beef is so so easy to make. Basically sweat down some onions and garlic, sear a chuck roast, throw it all in a crock pot and cook it all day. Doesn’t get much simpler than that. I love this recipe for busy days and I make them often on gymnastics night. That way, we can come home and dinner is waiting for us.
Shredded Beef
Don’t think that this is just for tacos either. Whip up some burritos or enchiladas with it or go traditional with beef and noodles. All delicious. Trust me.

When I make this for my family, it always bring me back. I love that food can do that.

Shredded Beef for Tacos {Crock Pot}

3 lb. boneless chuck roast
1 medium yellow onion, finely diced
5 garlic cloves, minced
5 Tbsp. olive oil, divided

1. Heat a saute pan that is large enough to hold the roast over medium heat. Add 2 Tbsp. olive oil. Once hot, add onion and garlic and cook for about 5 minutes, or until softened and carmalization begins. Dump mixture into a crock pot.

2. Bump up heat of pan to medium-high heat. Add remaining 3 Tbsp. olive oil to pan. Sear chuck roast on each side until golden brown, 2-3 minutes per side. Place roast on top of onions and garlic in the crock pot. Add 1/3 cup hot water to the saute pan and scrape it to get all the browned bits off the bottom. Add water and browned goodness to the crock pot.

3. Cook on low for 8-10 hours or on high for 4-6 hours. Remove fat and shred.

One Response to “Shredded Beef {For Tacos, Burritos and Such}”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My 3 Year Blogaversary | Meg's Everyday Indulgence - April 3, 2014

    […] Shredded Beef […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,732 other followers

