Angel Food Macaroons {Christmas Tray 2013}

4 Dec

Angel Food Macaroons
I feel like such a slacker this year when it comes to my Christmas baking. It takes everything in me these days just to get dinner on the table, let alone a buffet of Christmas treats. A couple weeks ago though, I managed to whip up a batch of these and they were incredible to say the least.
Angel Food Macaroons
The recipe is slightly altered from a recipe created by Kristan, the author of one of my favorite food blogs. The second I saw these dreamy cookies I knew I had to try them this year. I love love love chocolate dipped macaroons and her twist, using angel food cake mix, was very intriguing.
Angel Food Macaroons
For some reason, orange popped into my head as I was looking over the recipe. I adore the combination of orange and chocolate so I thought it would be a delicious addition and add a tropical twist. Another change I made was rather than pressing a Hershey kiss into them after baking, I dipped them in dark chocolate. As you all know, I’m not a huge chocolate fan so I wanted to reduce the amount.
Angel Food Macaroons
They were light, airy and amazing just as I expected them to be. Definitely a new Christmas cookie staple around here!
Angel Food Macaroons
Angel Food Macaroons
recipe adapted from Confessions of a Cookbook Queen

1 (16 oz.) box Angel Food cake mix
1/2 cup water
1 tsp. almond extract
1 Tbsp. orange zest
3 cups sweetened shredded coconut
12 oz. dark chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper or coat with nonstick spray.

2. In the bowl of your mixer, beat the cake mix, water, almond extract and orange zest on low speed until combined.  Increase speed to medium and beat for one minute.  Fold in the coconut with a spatula.

3. Drop dough with a small cookie scoop on prepared sheets, a couple of inches apart.  Bake for about 10 minutes or until edges turn golden brown.  Remove from oven, let cool for a minute then remove to wire racks to cool completely.

4. Melt chocolate in 30 second intervals in the microwave, stirring each time. Dip the bottom of each cookie in melted chocolate then place on parchment paper until chocolate hardens. I placed them in the refrigerator so they would harden quickly.
Angel Food Macaroons

One Response to “Angel Food Macaroons {Christmas Tray 2013}”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Holiday Baking Must Haves | Meg's Everyday Indulgence - December 11, 2013

    […] Microplane – So many recipes call for citrus zest, chocolate shavings and such so you can imagine this gets a lot of use in my house. Plus, […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,644 other followers

