White Chocolate Oatmeal Craisin Cookies {Christmas Tray 2013}

11 Nov

White Chocolate Oatmeal Craisin Cookies
Now that it’s November, I think it’s acceptable to start talking Christmas and I’m very excited to be sharing my first treat of the season. My dad loves these kind of cookies so when I came across a recipe in one of my favorite baking cookbooks, I knew it would be a great cookie to whip up and share with you all for your Christmas baking (and take to my parents so that I wouldn’t eat them all).
White Chocolate Oatmeal Craisin Cookies
The original recipe called for cranberries and raisins but I decided to change it up a bit and use craisins instead. The thing that really jumped out at me with this recipe is the use of orange zest. I knew it would be amazing with the tart craisins and it totally is. I love the texture of the oatmeal and the sweet, creaminess of the white chocolate too. They are basically perfect for Christmas. You have to make them, mmkay?
White Chocolate Oatmeal Craisin Cookies
White Chocolate Oatmeal Craisin Cookies
recipe adapted from Best Loved Cookies and Bars

1 cup butter, softened
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. baking soda
2 cups quick-cooking oats
1 1/2 cups craisins
1 Tbsp. orange zest
1 pkg. (12 oz.) white chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in vanilla. Combine flour, baking powder, salt and baking soda in a mixing bowl then add to creamed mixture. Stir in oats, craisins, orange zest and white chocolate chips.

2. Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls 2 inches apart onto greased baking sheets. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until edges are lightly browned. Remove to wire racks to cool.
White Chocolate Oatmeal Craisin Cookies

2 Responses to “White Chocolate Oatmeal Craisin Cookies {Christmas Tray 2013}”

  1. Ambar November 23, 2013 at 12:33 pm #

    love those cute boxes to put the cookies in!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Holiday Baking Must Haves | Meg's Everyday Indulgence - December 11, 2013

    […] Like, I think I would have a little breakdown if something happened to them and I had to portion cookies in a different way. Not.Gonna.Happen. I love to use a big one for muffins or cupcakes too. Perfect! […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,676 other followers

