Hooters Copycat Buffalo Wings {Football Food}

27 Sep

Buffalo Wings
Buffalo wings are the ultimate football food in my book. And not any of those fancy or crazy flavored ones, just hot buffalo wing sauce for me. That guy I live with usually prefers the honey bbq or parmesan garlic version when we go out for wings but well…he’s kind of a sissy and can’t handle the heat (and I say that in the most loving way possible). But he can totally get behind these wings and just deals with the spiciness because they are so delicious. I honestly don’t think they are all that spicy and would kick up the hot sauce if he wasn’t eating them too.
Buffalo Wings
This recipe is a copycat of Hooters wings but I can’t compare as I have never been there.  Everyone seems to rave about how delicious they are though and if they taste anything like these homemade wings, then I would have to agree. But I’ll still stick to making them at home.

I know many wing traditionalists think it’s just wrong to batter and fry a wing but we’ll just have to agree to disagree. I love the crispy coating the seasoned flour gives these wings. It does add a bit more work and time to the process but I think it’s worth it. The juicy chicken, crispy coating and spicy sauce is just perfect to us.
Buffalo Wings
I definitely don’t love frying things at home but every once and awhile I make an exception for these bad boys and you should too. And don’t forget some homemade bleu cheese dressing or ranch on the side!

Buffalo Wings {Hooters Copycat}
recipe from Top Secret Restaurant Recipes 1
prep time: 60-90 minutes
cook time: 10-15 minutes

For the sauce:
1/4 cup butter
1/4 cup hot pepper sauce (Louisiana Hot Sauce is my favorite)
Dash ground pepper
Dash garlic powder

For the wings:
Vegetable oil, for frying
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 tsp. paprika
1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper
1/4 tsp. salt
10 chicken wing pieces

1. Combine the flour, paprika, cayenne pepper and salt in a bowl with a lid that is large enough to fit the wings. Place wings in the bowl, cover with the lid and shake until they are all completely coated and are not stuck together. Put the wings in the refrigerator for 60-90 minutes (this will help the coating stick when fried).

2. Heat oil in a deep fryer to 375 degrees F. You want just enough to cover the wings entirely.

3. Carefully place the wings into the hot oil and fry for 10-15 minutes or until they begin to turn dark brown.

4. Meanwhile, combine the butter, hot pepper sauce , ground pepper and garlic powder over low heat. Heat until the butter is melted and the ingredients are well blended.

5. Remove the wings from the fryer and place on a paper towel to drain. Toss the wings with the sauce in a large bowl until they are evenly coated. Serve with bleu cheese or ranch dressing, carrots and celery.

4 Responses to “Hooters Copycat Buffalo Wings {Football Food}”

  1. hunky March 23, 2014 at 8:31 pm #

    i love ther wings

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Buffalo Chicken Sliders {Football Food} | Meg's Everyday Indulgence - October 11, 2013

    […] my football food series and it’s Buffalo Chicken Sliders. I know I just shared some delicious buffalo wings with you all a few weeks ago, but I couldn’t resist posting these cute little sandwiches […]

  2. Sticky Asian Wings | Meg's Everyday Indulgence - May 9, 2014

    […] They are probably one of my favorite foods but I’m kind of a snob about them. Wings should be spicy and slathered in buffalo sauce, none of those foofy flavors like parmesan garlic or honey barbeque (sorry if any of you are fans […]

  3. Grilled Buffalo Chicken + My 500th Post | Meg's Everyday Indulgence - August 19, 2014

    […] thing going on. Well, chicken wings are pretty much one of my favorite foods (as evidenced here, here and here) but they definitely aren’t the healthiest or cleanest food to eat so I don’t […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,680 other followers

