Beer Battered Cheese Curds

1 Jul

Cheese Curds 1
While living in Minnesota, we were introduced to fried cheese curds and totally fell in love with them. I mean, how could you not like battered, deep-fried cheese? One of our favorite places in Minneapolis to eat, Psycho Suzi’s, had the best cheese curds and we miss them dearly since moving.
Cheese Curds 2
When we were at the farmer’s market last weekend, we stopped by a little cheese stand and they had cheese curds! I couldn’t resist grabbing a bag and heading home to batter them up for an appetizer!

Joel may have gone out to throw steaks on the grill and promptly come back in to see me sitting on the couch, with my feet on the coffee table and the basket of these balancing on my belly. I may have inhaled half the batch during the 30 seconds he was outside. And I may not have felt a tad bit bad about any of it. These are all hypothetical situations of course.
Cheese Curds 3
Beer Battered Cheese Curds
recipe from allrecipes.com

2 quarts peanut oil, for frying
1/4 cup milk
3/4 cup beer
2 eggs
1/2 tsp. salt
1 cup all-purpose flour
2 lbs. cheese curds

1. Heat oil to 375 degrees F. Meanwhile, mix together milk, beer, eggs, salt and flour.

2. Coat cheese curds in the batter and shake a bit to remove excess batter. Place in the hot oil and cook for 1-2 minutes, until golden brown. Serve with ranch or marinara for dipping.

2 Responses to “Beer Battered Cheese Curds”

  1. Elizabeth July 2, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

    Oh my goodness, I can’t wait to try these! I always pass on cheese curds at the fair because I’m cheap and won’t pay 5 bucks for a small handful of curds. lol My kids will be just as excited when I tell them what’s for snack in the coming days.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,644 other followers

