Blackened Beef Stir-Fry

19 Jun

Blackened Beef Stir Fry 1
So before I get to this recipe, I have to let you know that my computer is currently on the fritz. We have another so you wouldn’t think this would be a big problem but all of my photos are on my laptop along with the recipes. I have finally run into a problem of being too prepared and uploading my pictures too often. Luckily, these pictures were still on my camera so I have a recipe to share with you today. I do have photos of another recipe but I have to do some searching to see if I can find the link as I have it bookmarked on my laptop. Hopefully I will be back up and running by Monday but we still haven’t figured out the issue so we’ll see. If any of you have had any issues with a charger suddenly not working, please let me know. We aren’t sure if it’s the charger, battery or motherboard but it’s totally dead. In the meantime, I will work on whipping up some new recipes and taking photos so that I have some deliciousness to share. Enough with my sad story.
Blackened Beef Stir Fry 3
Whenever I think of stir-fry or whip up a quick one, soy sauce or teriyaki automatically pops into my head. So, when I was leafing through my cookbooks for some different recipes to try, this one jumped off the page at me. Stir-fry with blackening spice and tomato paste? I would have never thought of it but it was quite delicious.

I usually double the sauce for these types of recipes, but I didn’t this time and I wish I would have. We are the type of people who like extra sauce to drizzle over the rice and there wasn’t quite enough for that. I left the recipe as is but if you like things saucy, go ahead and double it.
Blackened Beef Stir Fry 4
Blackened Beef Stir-Fry
recipe from Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook

12 oz. boneless beef top sirloin steak or top round steak
2 1/4 tsp. blackening seasoning
2/3 cup water
2 Tbsp. tomato paste
2 tsp. cornstarch
1/2 tsp. instant beef bouillon granules
2 Tbsp. cooking oil
2 cups broccoli florets
1 cup sliced carrot
3 cups cooked rice

1. Thinly slice beef against the grain into bite-size pieces (it is easier to cut if it is partially frozen). Sprinkle with 2 teaspoons of the blackening spice and toss to coat.

2. In a small bowl, mix water, remaining 1/4 tsp. blackening spice, tomato paste, cornstarch and beef bouillon granules. Set aside.

3. Heat a wok over medium high heat and add 1 tablespoon oil. Saute broccoli and carrots for 3-4 minutes until tender crisp. Remove from the wok. Add remaining oil and quickly stir-fry the beef for about 2 minutes. Push the beef to the side and add in the sauce. Cook until thickened then mix in the beef and veggies until fully coated in sauce. Serve over rice.
Blackened Beef Stir Fry 2

3 Responses to “Blackened Beef Stir-Fry”

  1. Jhuls July 28, 2013 at 4:07 am #

    Hmmm! Delicious!!! But what if I don’t have this blackening seasoning? :( Also, you have great photos!!

    • Meg's Everyday Indulgence July 28, 2013 at 7:24 am #

      Thank you! You could mix up your own blackening seasoning (I included a link below to one that looks pretty good) or you could use a Cajun seasoning instead. Thanks for stopping by!

      http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Blackened-Seasoning-Mix/

      • Jhuls July 28, 2013 at 7:27 am #

        Oh! Thanks a lot for the link. I will check that out and get back to you when I have tried this recipe. :D Have a nice day! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,587 other followers

