Happy Mardi Gras!

12 Feb

I don’t have any new Cajun recipes to share with you all for Mardi Gras but remember this King Cake I made last year? It’s super simple and delicious. You should totally make it!

Oh, and check out the delicious food here and here that you could scarf down if you are in the Big Easy. Mmm, just looking at those posts makes me drool.

Joel and I visited New Orleans last year for the Final Four Tournament (go KU!) and had quite the time. It was a first for both of us and we were lucky enough to see the sights as well as go to the the final three games of March Madness.  The architecture of the city was amazing along with the culture. And the smell of Bourbon Street is something I will unfortunelty not soon forget. It was great to visit and mark off the bucket list but it’s one of those places that I don’t feel like I ever need to go to again. Don’t get me wrong, it was lots of fun but the drinking, stripping, party all night scene is not for me.

To celebrate Mardi Gras, here are some of my favorite pictures and moments from our trip to NOLA.

Swamp tour. Gators. Turtles. Wanna know how to tempt out the gators? Hot dogs and marshmallows.
Gator Jumping
Turtle
Mmmmm, rum tour.
Rum Tour
Random NOLA jam session that broke in the rain. Awesome.
Bourbon Street 2
Bourbon Street craziness.
Bourbon Street 1
Beautiful doors of the French Quarter.
Yellow and Blue Door
Teal Door
Rustic Door 1
Street performers.
Street Performer
Street Performer 1
Jackson Square.
Jackson Square 1
Horse

One Response to “Happy Mardi Gras!”

  1. pinktigerblog February 14, 2013 at 8:12 am #

    Meg,

    Your pictures from your trip are awesome! I’m glad you enjoyed your vacation but I’m so sad that NOLA was a once and done place for you. There’s so much more to the city and region than drinking, stripping and partying so I hope you’ll give it another chance one day!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,644 other followers

