Hamburger Buns

6 Feb

Hamburger Buns 1
So the day I made this delicious Hawaiian Pulled Pork it was really cold and dreary. Just one of those days that you just don’t want to go outside. But I needed buns but it was cold outside…I had quite the dilemma going on. I decided to check out my saved recipes to see how difficult it would be to make some homemade. I have always had quite the hatred towards dough. It takes forever to make and it gets my hands all disgusting and sticky. But then I found this recipe, which kneads the dough in my KitchenAid and doesn’t end up sticky. It still takes awhile to rise so make sure to plan for that.
Hamburger Buns 2
My first attempt at these came out a bit dense. I think it was the combination of not warm enough water/milk (they didn’t rise as much as I would have liked) and super old bread flour. I don’t even know when I bought that darn bag of flour…it had to have been at least 3 years old. When I went to throw out the bag of flour, I checked the expiration date to see exactly how bad it was….the date was the day Noah was born 7/19/2010. Over 2 1/2 years past date. Ooops. I definitely bought new and tried them again. And they turned out perfectly light and fluffly. Just what you want in a hamburger bun!
Hamburger Buns 4

Thank goodness it was so nasty outside that day because these not only tasted delicious (even with the expired flour) but I know and can pronounce every ingredient in them unlike the ones from the grocery store. I will definitely be doubling the recipe in the future so that I can freeze the extras for future meals.

Hamburger Buns
recipe from Pennies on a Platter

3 tablespoons warm milk
1 cup warm water
2 teaspoons instant yeast (or 1 package)
2 1/2 tablespoons sugar
1 1/2 teaspoon salt
1 large egg
3 cups bread flour
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
2 1/2 tablespoon unsalted butter, softened

For topping:
1 large egg beaten with 1 tablespoon water, for egg wash
sesame seeds
1. Using the paddle attachment of a stand mixer, combine the milk, water, yeast, sugar, salt and egg. Mix in the bread flour and all-purpose flour. Once incorporated, mix in the butter. Switch to the dough hook attachment and knead on low speed until the dough is somewhat tacky, about 6 to 8 minutes.

2. Transfer dough to a bowl lightly brush with olive oil. Cover tightly with plastic wrap and let rise in a warm place until doubled in size, between 1 to 2 hours.

3. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone mat. Divide the dough into 8 equal parts (if using a kitchen scale, 3.9 oz each). Gently pull back the sides of each to form a ball and place on the baking sheet, 2 to 3 inches apart. Cover loosely with lightly oiled plastic wrap and let rise again for 1 to 2 hours. The dough is ready when nearly doubled.

4. Fill a large metal pan with a shallow layer of water and set on the lowest rack of the oven. Move the other rack to the center position. Preheat oven to 400 F. Brush the tops of the buns lightly with the egg wash and sprinkle with sesame seeds. Bake buns for about 15 minutes, until golden brown, rotating halfway through. Let cool completely on a wire rack.

Hamburger Buns 3

One Response to “Hamburger Buns”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Best Pizza Crust | Meg's Everyday Indulgence - April 1, 2013

    [...] lately, I have actually enjoyed making breads of all sorts and it all started with these delicious hamburger buns. Joel is usually the pizza maker around here but this time, I decided to try a new recipe and man [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,680 other followers

