Red Velvet Gooey Butter Cookies {Christmas Tray 2012}

30 Nov

Red Velvet Gooey Butter Cookies
So red velvet just screams Christmas to me and these cookies are the perfect for the holidays. They start with a cake mix so they are very simple to whip up. I seem to always reach for cake mix whenever it comes to red velvet.  I think it’s because on one of Joel’s birthdays when we were still dating, I tried to make a homemade red velvet cake. It didn’t end well. It had a weird tang and texture so I really don’t know how I messed it up but I haven’t tried to make it from scratch since. I probably should try since I have a food blog and all. We shall see.
Red Velvet Gooey Butter Cookies
These cookies are rich, dense and of course, gooey. I’m really glad I was giving them away to our friends because I really couldn’t have had these sitting around my house. I’m totally a stress eater and I’m starting to feel a tad overwhelmed with the move so I probably would have eaten the whole batch. Not so good for the dieting.
Red Velvet Gooey Butter Cookies
If you aren’t up for cookies, these cake balls are one of my favorite treats ever and were featured as a great Christmas treat last year with funfetti cake mix but my personal favorite is red velvet.
Red Velvet Gooey Butter Cookies
Red Velvet Gooey Butter Cookies
recipe from Taste and Tell

8 oz. cream cheese, at room temperature
1/2 cup butter, at room temperature
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 box red velvet cake mix
Confectioners’ sugar, for dusting

1, In the bowl of a mixer, cream together the cream cheese and the butter.  Beat in the egg, then the vanilla.  Beat in the cake mix until completely combined.  Cover and refrigerate for at least 2 hours.

2. Preheat the oven to 350°F.

3. Roll the chilled dough into tablespoon sized balls.  Roll in confectioners’ sugar, and place on an ungreased baking sheet.  Bake in the preheated oven for 12 minutes.  Remove to a wire rack to cool.

3 Responses to “Red Velvet Gooey Butter Cookies {Christmas Tray 2012}”

  1. Husker Fan December 4, 2012 at 2:06 pm #

    These will look so pretty on my Christmas cookie tray! I, too, always use a mix when making Red Velvet. I’ve yet to find a really good recipe for Red Velvet.

  2. brokencages December 6, 2012 at 9:40 am #

    These look and sound amazing! I wonder though, would white choc. chips added in the mix be too much? I always try to add one thing to a recipe. Makes me feel more creative =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,644 other followers

