Jello Cookies {Christmas Tray 2012}

23 Nov

Jello Cookies
When I saw these, I thought Noah would love making and playing with the dough. Turns out, he just wanted to eat the dough.
Jello Cookies
Jello Cookies
And do this.
Jello Cookies
And this too.

He did enjoy rolling them in the jello powder and flattening them on the baking sheet. There was a whole lot of “Noah do it” going on in our kitchen. He is totally at that stage. I’m glad he wants some independence but man, it’s annoying sometimes.
Jello Cookies
I guess these weren’t the best cookies to make for Christmas. I literally stood in front of the jello for like 5 minutes trying to decide what flavors to use. None of them were particularly Christmas-y but I was dying to make these so I had to make it work. I thought cranberry could work but who likes cranberry jello? Not me. I finally settled on lemon and black cherry…yellow and dark red seemed to say holiday to me.
Jello Cookies
I think the colors turned out for Christmas. Not typical green and red but still festive. They taste like zingy sugar cookies covered in the sour sugar from gummy worms. Yum!
Jello Cookies
Jello Cookies
recipe from I {Heart} Naptime

3 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1 1/2 cups salted butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
4 (3 oz) pkg. jello (any flavors)*
Gel food coloring

1. Beat butter in large bowl with mixer until creamy. Add sugar and beat until light and fluffy. Blend in egg and vanilla. Mix flour and baking powder in a separate bowl. Gradually beat in flour mixture.

2. Divide dough into 4 sections. Sprinkle 2 Tb of jello onto each section. Knead together with dough. You may want to add a bit of food coloring to make the dough more vibrant (I had to, especially with the lemon).

3. Shape dough into 1-inch balls. Roll in the extra jello from the packets. Place, 2 inches apart, on baking sheets. Flatten with bottom of bowl.

4. Bake 8 to 10 min at 350 on lined baking sheets. Cool on baking sheets 2 min. Remove to wire racks and cool completely.

*I only used 2 jello flavors so I doubled the amount of powder in each half (rather than fourths).
Jello Cookies

One Response to “Jello Cookies {Christmas Tray 2012}”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Brownie Nests | Meg's Everyday Indulgence - March 27, 2013

    […] favorite Lemon Hush – my favorite Key Lime Cheesecake with Fresh Strawberry Sauce Jello Cookies Cherry Limeade Cupcakes Classic Southern Lemon […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,727 other followers

