Chai Tea Mix

22 Oct

Chai Tea Mix
I have never been a fan of tea but on a recent trip to the North Shore of Lake Superior my mother-in-law ordered a chai tea and I gave it a try. Surprisingly, I really enjoyed it so as soon as we got home I went on the hunt for a mix I could whip up so I could have it at home whenever the mood struck.
Chai Tea Mix
This chai tea mix is spicy, warm and comforting which is a nice change the hot chocolate I would normally chose when I want a hot drink (I’m not a coffee drinker either). It tastes great when mixed with water but I prefer milk for the creaminess it lends the tea.

This recipe makes a huge amount so be prepared to drink up or throw some in a jar and tie a pretty ribbon around it with mixing directions for a fun little gift.
Chai Tea Mix
Chai Tea Mix
recipe from allrecipes.com

1  cup nondairy dry milk powder
1 cup powdered non-dairy creamer
1 cup vanilla flavored powdered non-dairy creamer
2 1/2 cups sugar
1 1/2 cups unsweetened instant tea
1 tsp. ginger
2 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. cloves
1 tsp. cardamom
1 tsp. nutmeg
1 tsp. allspice

1. In a large bowl, combine milk powder, non-dairy creamer, vanilla flavored creamer, sugar and instant tea. Stir in ginger, cinnamon, cloves, cardamom, nutmeg and allspice. In a blender or food processor, blend 1 cup at a time, until mixture is the consistency of fine powder.

2. To serve: Stir 2 heaping tablespoons Chai tea mixture into a mug of hot water or milk.

One Response to “Chai Tea Mix”

  1. Terri October 22, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

    I found this recipe last winter and just love it. I am not a coffee drinker and this is a good replacement. What I do is brew a cup of tea, usually chai and use the mixture as a creamer. Not so many calories.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,669 other followers

