Extra Crispy Spicy Fried Chicken {Crazy Cooking Challenge}

7 Jul

DSC_0116
When I saw that the “recipe” for this month’s Crazy Cooking Challenge was fried chicken I may have let out a little squeal. I will full-heartedly admit that fried chicken is my favorite food. God was in a very good mood when he gave whoever invented it the idea! I mean, it’s crunchy, juicy, greasy, salty…the things deliciousness are made of. As much as I love it, I very rarely eat it and never make it homemade. We don’t really ever fry anything so it’s just an occasional indulgence when we go out to eat. But I was more than happy to give it an attempt at home for the sake of the Challenge.
DSC_0120
I found a billion different blogger recipes I wanted to try but I decided on this one because it was created based on Popeye’s Chicken and you just can’t go wrong with that. It was just as the name states and totally delicious. Whenever I need a crispy, fried indulgence this is exactly what will pop into my head and cook up on my stove!
DSC_0117
Extra Crispy Spicy Fried Chicken
recipe from From Away

3 eggs
1/3 cup water
1 cup hot red pepper sauce (I like Louisiana Hot Sauce)
4 cups flour
2 teaspoon pepper
2 teaspoon paprika
3 teaspoons cayenne pepper
1 quart buttermilk (optional)
Salt, Pepper, and Garlic Powder (to taste)
1 (1 to 2 1/2-pound) chicken, cut into pieces
Peanut Oil, for fryingDSC_0124

1. Place cut-up chicken in a large bowl, and cover with buttermilk. Cover and chill for two hours, or overnight. This is an optional (but recommended) step.

2. In a large bowl, add eggs, water, and red pepper sauce. Whisk until combined.

3. In a large gallon freezer bag, mix flour, pepper, paprika, and cayenne.

4. Remove chicken from buttermilk (if marinated) and sprinkle lightly with salt, pepper, and garlic powder.

5. Place all chicken pieces in freezer bag with flour mixture. Shake until all pieces are evenly coated.

6. Remove chicken pieces one at a time, shaking excess flour. Dip each piece in the egg mixture, and return to bag of flour. After all pieces of been dipped in the egg mixture and put back in the bag, give it a second shake to coat chicken pieces again.

7. Heat oil in deep fryer or deep pan to 350 degrees. Working in batches, drop each piece of chicken into the hot oil. Fry for 15-18 minutes, or until golden brown, turning occasionally if oil does not completely cover chicken. Keep in mind that dark meat chicken takes longer to cook than white meat. Watch your wing segments, as well; these will finish cooking first.
Photobucket

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

62 Responses to “Extra Crispy Spicy Fried Chicken {Crazy Cooking Challenge}”

  1. Krystal July 7, 2012 at 11:38 am #

    I love how crispy it is! Perfect! Stopping by from #3

    -Krystal @ recipesofacheapskate.blogspot.com

  2. Lesa @Edesia's Notebook July 7, 2012 at 11:43 am #

    What beautiful fried chicken! Gorgeous!

  3. Lisa~~ July 7, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

    Extra crispy and spicy sounds wonderful in my world. I too rarely fry so this challenge was a treat in our home too.

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my CCC entry Copycat “KFC” Original Recipe Fried Chicken

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

  4. Jamie @ Love Bakes Good Cakes July 7, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    I need this ….. looks so good! Pinned it!

  5. Jen @JuanitasCocina July 7, 2012 at 2:32 pm #

    This is absolutely beautiful! My favorite part is the crispy skin, and yours looks amazing!

    #46

  6. The UDG July 9, 2012 at 11:30 am #

    I just want to peel the skin off your chicken and eat it for the rest of my life. I will have to come back to this recipe because I think Husband will really enjoy it.

    • Devon March 14, 2013 at 12:45 pm #

      I love the skin too! It’s my favorite part on chicken. :-)

  7. Chef Mireille July 9, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

    these spicy chicken are perfect for my flavor palate

  8. Melissa July 10, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

    Oh my goodness! This loks so incredibly crunchy and delicious! Great SRC pick!

    I’m CCC #10 :)

  9. betzy August 5, 2012 at 7:13 am #

    i made this for my boyfriend and he and his friends absolutely loved it…!!it was compared to kfc!! *blush …i shoulv used the whole cup of hot sauce instead of half though…really yummmy n crispyyy :-)

  10. Denise November 27, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

    My husband says Popeyes chicken is the best food in the world, lol. I look forward to making this with him.

    • SHARON WILSON December 5, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

      meg, this chicken sounds wonderful. what kind of hot sauce do you use

      • Meg's Everyday Indulgence December 5, 2012 at 7:19 pm #

        Oh, it was! I prefer Louisiana Hot Sauce so that is what I used (but you could use Franks or Tabasco too).

  11. telesma December 11, 2012 at 8:13 am #

    A buttermilk soak is not optional if you want your chicken to be juicy and tender. I don’t use any eggs. I put hot sauce, salt, sugar, and pressed garlic right in the buttermilk and let the chicken soak in that overnight, so it’s basically brined in buttermilk, then the chicken goes into flour seasoned with sweet paprika, cayenne, and fresh ground black pepper.

    I let it sit in the flour for about 45 minutes before frying, because it will cook more evenly if it’s not as cold, and the breading adheres better if it sits (the flour absorbs the liquid). You can leave it in the flour or put it on a cooling rack for that time, but it makes a difference in the final product. The other trick is to never let your oil drop below 375. If the oil isn’t hot enough at any point, the chicken will be greasy.

    Another way to do it is to make batter fried chicken. The trick with that is to pat the chicken dry, flour it, then dip it in batter. Flouring first helps the batter to stick. :)

  12. Tamara Hendrix December 13, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

    Is it necessary to cook in peanut oil?

    • Meg's Everyday Indulgence December 14, 2012 at 6:44 am #

      It isn’t absolutely isn’t that you fry in peanut oil it is just the prefered oil as it neutral and won’t impart any flavor on the chicken. It also has a high smoke point so it can be brought to a higher temperature. I have used veggie oil in the past with good results.

  13. Kelly December 31, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    Hello…

    Chicken looks amazing….. For those who are interested, here is a link to a demo video on how to cut up a whole chicken into pieces….

    The Test Kitchen: How to Cut Up a Whole Chicken – Gourmet Magazine ….. That is the name of the video you can google that within Youtube and find it that way too…. Take care all…… Happy New Year…. Kelly

  14. Tina January 30, 2013 at 7:45 am #

    When I worked at POPEYE’S ,the spices were added to the flour.I prefer to buy it from Popeye’s, I don’t like when the ends bleed, and grosses me out.

    • eboni January 29, 2014 at 3:23 am #

      Did popeyes do an egg wash or just flour to fry the chicken?

  15. diaryofamadmama February 12, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

    I had this recipe pinned (from Pinterest) and my youngest son (who’s 7) got to pick tonight’s dinner, but it had to be chicken. So he was looking on my Chicken board and chose your recipe! :) I was glad he did. I LOVE fried chicken! Can’t wait for dinner! :)
    Thanks for sharing.
    ~Jen

    • Meg's Everyday Indulgence February 12, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

      Awesome! It’s so good! Hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

      • diaryofamadmama February 12, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

        Oh my gosh! Delicious! I’m so glad I pinned this! Thanks again. My new favorite chicken recipe! ;)

  16. Bridget taylor February 17, 2013 at 10:32 am #

    Could I use boneless chicken breast instead???

    • Meg's Everyday Indulgence February 18, 2013 at 11:28 am #

      You could definitely use chicken breasts instead but it will dry out faster so be mindful of that. Also, since it doesn’t have the skin, it may not get as crispy.

      • Mariah February 19, 2014 at 9:41 pm #

        Would the frying time change with boneless chicken breast?

      • Meg's Everyday Indulgence February 20, 2014 at 7:36 am #

        Yes, they would take less time to cook. It depends on how thick they are, but I would say 3-4 minutes per side.

  17. Wendy March 7, 2013 at 10:04 pm #

    I love Popeye’s spicy chicken!! There’s no Popeye’s where I live so it’s on my list of places to visit when I’m home! I will definitely be trying this recipe soon! Thanks for sharing it!

  18. Poppy March 9, 2013 at 10:04 pm #

    I tried this recipe tonight, and for the amount of work & mess involved I didn’t think it was that great. It was OK, and the hot sauce gave it a nice subtle flavor, but it was mostly pretty bland. If I made it again I would at least add some salt or something to the flour mixture. I expected it to have more of a kick, and even though I thought it wasn’t too bad I definitely wouldn’t make it again.

  19. Natasha March 11, 2013 at 8:40 pm #

    Did you use a deep fryer or just a deep pan for frying? I’m using legs for this and just hope to be able to cook them thoroughly while not burning the outside.

    • Meg's Everyday Indulgence March 12, 2013 at 1:24 pm #

      I used a deep pan and flipped them halfway through the cooking process since the oil didn’t completely cover them.

  20. dcuk365 March 13, 2013 at 10:39 pm #

    I used this recipe to make chicken tenders, and it worked perfectly!!!

  21. Jules March 14, 2013 at 4:42 pm #

    I agree that soaking in buttermilk is an absolute must any time you are frying chicken. Actually, I soak everything I fry in buttermilk..it’s unsouthern not to! Also, I’ve always fried everything is self rising flour. It makes a better crust (in my opinion)

  22. pepoc April 9, 2013 at 2:57 pm #

    Reblogged this on Pattie's Useful Useless Knowledge and commented:
    Extra Crispy Spicy Fried Chicken (copycat Popeye’s)
    *For Erica*

  23. mark oftega June 30, 2013 at 11:48 pm #

    Not much flavor and the coating did not stick to the chicken i am surprized it did smell great so im going to inject the sauce right into the chicken and see what happens and change a few thing i wdll let you know how it comes out

  24. Cass September 5, 2013 at 12:27 pm #

    I just made this but using boneless chicken breasts instead for spicy chicken sandwiches.. Came out fantastic! They tasted great and cooked relatively fast. I high recommend this recipe.

  25. Rho December 1, 2013 at 4:29 pm #

    I pinned this recipe almost a year ago and never managed to find the time and patience to try it out. Until today.
    I love love love this recipe! Thank you so much for putting it online. I made waaay too much so i have a bag of coated chicken left in the fridge for tomorrow. I live in the Netherlands and sadly we don’t have a Popeye’s restaurant so this is the closest i’ll come to one for now :)

  26. teena February 18, 2014 at 7:15 am #

    I like ur recipe and blog. Its very easy to understand ur way of cooking way. Thank u !!!

  27. sanakhan March 8, 2014 at 2:34 am #

    is it necessary to use peanut oil to fry the chicken

    • Meg's Everyday Indulgence March 9, 2014 at 1:33 pm #

      Peanut oil is usually recommended for frying because it has a higher smoke point and the “flavor” of it goes well with fried foods. That being said, no you don’t have to use peanut oil. Vegetable or canola oil would also work here.

  28. pleasingcuisine March 23, 2014 at 1:12 pm #

    Has anyone tried baking these? I teach a cooking class with teens and don’t like to fry too much. Thoughts?>

    • Meg's Everyday Indulgence March 23, 2014 at 1:54 pm #

      I haven’t tried baking it but it’s worth a try. I would cover a baking sheet with foil then place a wire rack with nonstick spray on top. Then place the chicken on the rack and spray generously with olive oil spray (or brush lightly with some melted butter) then flip and spray again halfway through baking. Bake at 400 degrees for about 45 minutes. Let me know how it turns out if you try it!

  29. Erona April 2, 2014 at 8:55 am #

    Nothing beats some smart, old style Southern preparation, and you are certain to get the total family on-board with this reaper formula for Popeye’s Extra-Crispy Spicy deep-fried Chicken with Delta Sauce. The Delta sauce is slightly spicy and fully divine. once the family is yearning for a fast and delicious chicken formula, nothing tiptop a aper formula of Popeye’s chicken! don’t pay all of your cash on fast-food, if you’ll build even higher food even as simply reception

  30. Diana Lee June 30, 2014 at 11:26 am #

    Omg! Thank you so much for posting this recipe. I LOVE Popeyes chicken. Can’t wait to try this. I can never get my chicken to stay crispy. After it’s on the plate a little while my crunch goes soft

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cap’n Crunch Chicken « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - December 5, 2012

    [...] love any kind of chicken that is breaded. It’s pretty much my favorite as evidenced here and here. So, when I saw this recipe I got really excited and thought it would be a big hit in my [...]

  2. Things I like Thursday – Southern & Cajun/Creole | Crazy Jamie's Blog - December 20, 2012

    [...] YUM! Extra Crispy Spicy Fried Chicken (making this sunday for my [...]

  3. Top 12 Recipes of 2012 « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - December 31, 2012

    [...] Cake with Mint Chocolate Chip Frosting Extra Crispy Spicy Fried Chicken Sweet Cornbread Cheesy Bread Whole Lemon Blueberry Walnut Muffins Chocolate Guinness Cupcakes [...]

  4. Extra Crispy Spicy Fried Chicken & Christmas | Crazy Jamie's Blog - January 10, 2013

    [...] the recipe I used for the [...]

  5. Superbowl Roundup 2013 « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - January 30, 2013

    [...] Extra Crispy Spicy Fried Chicken – I don’t think anything needs to be said for this one. [...]

  6. Extra Crispy Spicy Fried Chicken : Meg’s Everyday Indulgence | Now Trending TV - March 28, 2013

    [...] Extra Crispy Spicy Fried Chicken {Crazy Cooking Challenge} | Meg’s Everyday Indulgence. [...]

  7. Extra Crispy Spicy Fried Chicken Recipe | the best recipes ever - June 5, 2013

    […] Extra Crispy Spicy Fried Chicken Recipe […]

  8. Extra Crispy Spicy Fried Chicken | the best recipes ever - June 16, 2013

    […] text and image source […]

  9. National Fried Chicken Day! | Daily Holiday Blog - July 5, 2013

    […] Extra Crispy Spicy Fried Chicken by Meg’s Every Day Indulgence […]

  10. Extra Crispy Spicy Fried Chicken - July 10, 2013

    […] See Full Recipe on megseverydayindulgence.wordpress.com […]

  11. 10 Stunning Chicken Fall Dishes - October 15, 2013

    […] Extra Crispy Spicy Fried Chicken And last but not least – fried Chicken! It’s crunchy, juicy, greasy, salty – all the things deliciousness is made of! (via Megs Every Day Indulgence) […]

  12. Mary Brown’s Fried Chicken Copycat | Heather's Homemade - November 30, 2013

    […] chicken breasts but I still had about a cup left. There are also a few recipes floating around for Popeye’s chicken, and KFC as well as another Newfoundland and Labrador recipe for Double Crunch Honey Garlic Chicken […]

  13. Buttermilk Almond Chicken Fingers | Meg's Everyday Indulgence - March 7, 2014

    […] do I love me some fried chicken. Like, it would be my last meal kind of love. But I can probably count on one hand the amount of […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,641 other followers

