Scallops with Dill Sauce

13 Jun

Scallops with Dill Sauce
This was my first attempt at making scallops and I will be totally honest that I was very concerned about how they would turn out. I was making them for our anniversary dinner along with filet mignon, twice baked potatoes and caesar salad. Since I had a lot of other things going, I wanted to find a simple recipe that I hopefully wouldn’t screw up.

I started with a quick search through my cookbooks and found the perfect recipe almost immediately. When I saw Scallops with Dill Sauce I stopped my search because we are huge dill lovers around here and I happen to be growing some dill in my herb pots on the deck right now. This recipe really could not have been easier or tastier. I whipped up the dill sauce during nap time so that the flavors could mingle. Then all I had to do was brush the scallops with the seasoned butter and throw them under the broiler.
Scallops with Dill Sauce
I watched the scallops very closely since it was my first attempt and I really didn’t want to overcook them. While the recipe states 8-10 minutes, mine only took about 7 minutes to cook to perfection. They were unbelievably sweet and tender. The dill sauce, though simple, was really bright and delicious.

We are traveling to Naples, FL for a family vacation in just a few weeks so I have a strong feeling that this was just a little taste of what is to come for that seafood loving man of mine.
Scallops with Dill Sauce
Scallops with Dill Sauce
recipe from New Cookbook (Better Homes and Gardens)

1 lb. fresh or frozen sea scallops
3 Tbsp. butter, melted
1/4 tsp. black pepper
1/8 tsp. paprika

For Dill Sauce:
2/3 cup mayonaisse (I used the light olive oil kind and it tasted just fine to us)
1 Tbsp. finely chopped onion
2 tsp. lemon juice
1 1/2 tsp. snipped fresh dill or 1/2 tsp. dried dill

1. If time permits, mix dill sauce ingredients together a few hours before serving. Cover and refrigerate until ready to serve.

2. Thaw scallops, if frozen. Rinse scallops; pat dry with paper towels. Halve any large scallops. Thread scallops onto four 8- to 10-inch skewers, leaving a 1/4-inch space between pieces. (I skipped this step and just placed them on a baking sheet). Preheat broiler. Place skewers on the greased unheated rack of a broiler pan.

3. In a small bowl stir together melted butter, pepper and paprika. Brush half the mixture over the scallops. Broil about 4 inches form the heat for 8 to 10 minutes or until scallops are opaque, turning and brushing with the remaining melted butter halfway through broiling (mine only took about 3 1/2 minutes per side). Serve scallops with dill sauce.

Recipe linked to Mangia Monday, Totally Tasty Tuesday, Tasty Tuesday and Cast Party Wednesday.

One Response to “Scallops with Dill Sauce”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Parmesan Crusted Filet Mignon « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - December 12, 2012

    [...] and over the top. I went with a surf and turf vibe so I served these delicious steaks alongside Scallops with Dill Sauce, twice baked potatoes and a simple [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,679 other followers

