Stir Fried Orange Shrimp

29 Feb

Stir Fried Orange ShrimpJoel and I always give up something for Lent. It ranges from soda to chips to sweets…pretty much anything revolving around food. After watching Forks Over Knives, a documentary focusing on the positive health aspects of removing meat and animal products from your diet, Joel thought of the idea of giving up meat for Lent. I wasn’t so sure. That is hard. And it was very surprising to hear him suggest it as he is a huge carnivore and pouts if we have a meal without meat, poultry¬†or seafood. After much thought, Joel decided to give up all meat and poultry but would allow himself to eat seafood. I personally am not a huge fan of seafood so I decided to eat chicken (and maybe the occasional shrimp), but no other poultry or meat.

I have been on the search for vegetarian meals and seafood recipes (that could also be translated to chicken for my dinner). One of the first recipes I tried was this Stir Fried Orange Shrimp. It was sweet and spicy and fairly simple to prepare for a weeknight meal. And for not really caring for seafood, I actually enjoyed this quite a bit (although it would be even tastier with chicken in my opinion…but I love me some chicken). I would love any suggestions for recipe ideas, especially lunch stuff! Our first week has gone well. Here’s to hoping we don’t eat cheesy pasta for 40 days!
Stir Fried Orange Shrimp

Stir Fried Orange Shrimp
recipe from myrecipes.com

1 1/2 pounds peeled and deveined large shrimp
1 tablespoon cornstarch
1/4 cup fresh orange juice
2 tablespoons low-sodium soy sauce
2 tablespoons honey
1 tablespoon rice wine vinegar
1 tablespoon chile paste with garlic (such as sambal oelek)
2 tablespoons canola oil tablespoon
minced peeled fresh ginger
3 garlic cloves, minced
1/3 cup chopped green onions

1. Place shrimp in a medium bowl. Sprinkle with cornstarch; toss well to coat. Set aside.

2. Combine juice, soy sauce, honey, vinegar, and chile paste, stirring with a whisk; set aside.

3. Heat canola oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add minced ginger and garlic to pan; stir-fry for 15 seconds or until fragrant. Add shrimp mixture; stir-fry for 3 minutes. Add juice mixture and onions; cook 2 minutes or until sauce thickens and shrimp are done, stirring frequently. Serve immediately.

Recipe linked to Mangia Monday, Totally Tasty Tuesday, Tasty Tuesday, Tempt My Tummy Tuesday, Cast Party Wednesday, Full Plate Thursday and Fusion Friday.

3 Responses to “Stir Fried Orange Shrimp”

  1. juicer February 29, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

    Hey there I am so glad I found your webpage, I really found you by accident, while I was browsing on Bing for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say kudos for a remarkable post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I donít have time to read it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.

  2. Karen March 1, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

    The orange shrimp sounds great…sweet and spicy. If you stop by my blog, check my post for linguine and clams. You won’t feel like you are missing out on anything…its very flavorful.

  3. Miz Helen March 3, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

    What a great plate of food. That Shrimp looks delicious, I just love the orange flavor that completes this dish. Hope you are having a great week end and thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,641 other followers

