Homemade Gumdrops

10 Feb

Yep, you heard me right. Homemade gumdrops. And it’s all thanks to Bakerella….she is a genius…go check out the site if you have never been, you will be amazed.

I have had this recipe bookmarked for awhile now and have just been waiting for the perfect time to give them a try. And what better time than Valentine’s Day? Those bright, sparkly cubes are just so cute packaged up and would be the perfect gift for kids and adults alike.
Gumdrops

These little gems involved quite a process to make and took about 3 full days to complete from start to finish but they turned out so darn cute and tasty. After reading what Bakerella had to say about these, I decided to spray disposable foil mini loaf pans with non-stick spray. I sliced each loaf 3 times vertically then cut the foil pan and peeled it off.
Gumdrops

From there, I placed the gumdrop strips on a sugared cutting board and finished cutting them into cubes.
Gumdrops

I decided to go with orange, lemon, raspberry and peppermint extracts to flavor my gumdrops and the orange was definitely my favorite. When making them, I wasn’t too sure how the peppermint would turn out but I was pleasantly surprised. It was nice and minty but not overpowering as I suspected it would be.
Gumdrops

They were softer and chewier than store-bought gumdrops. To be honest, I just thought these would be fun to make and I didn’t have too high of hopes for actually enjoying them but they were pretty darn delicious.
Gumdrops

As you can see, I didn’t really measure them to exactly 3/4-inches. I just cut them to approximately the same size then rolled them in sugar. After they dried for 2 days, I wrapped them up in clear cellophane bags and tied them up with a tag and sparkly ribbon.
Gumdrops

Homemade Gumdrops
recipe from Bakerella

4 Tbsp gelatin (that’s about 6 envelopes)
1 cup cold water
1 1/2 cups boiling water
4 cups sugar
1/4 tsp flavored extract
1-2 drops food coloring (I used four colors)
extra sugar for coating

1. In a large pot, soften gelatin in cold water for five minutes.

2. Stir in boiling water until gelatin dissolves.

3. Stir in sugar.

4. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat and boil for 25 minutes. Stir constantly.

5. Pour mixture into 4 – 3X5 pans.

6. Add 1/4 tsp extract and 1-2 drops food color to each pan.

7. Stir until thoroughly combined.

8. Cover pan and chill overnight in the fridge.

9. Cut gelatin mixture into 3/4 inch cubes using a knife dipped in hot water.

10. The gelatin may pull, but continue cutting.

11. Separate cubes and roll in sugar until coated on all sides.

12. Place gumdrops on wax paper and leave at room temperature for two days to crystallize.

Store in an airtight container. Makes about 8 dozen 3/4 inch gumdrops.
Gumdrops

Recipe linked to These Chicks Cooked, Mangia Monday, Tasty Tuesday, Totally Tasty Tuesday, Tempt My Tummy Tuesday and Full Plate Thursday.

3 Responses to “Homemade Gumdrops”

  1. Andi Winslow February 18, 2012 at 7:56 am #

    Hi I recently made some gumdrops also, Kinda fun my recipe is a little different and I was impressed with the taste etc. Go check them out if you can. Your little bags are cute. Nice post Andi thewednesdaybaker.blogspot.com

  2. megan W November 29, 2012 at 6:08 pm #

    I tried making these but they carmelized (turned brown at about 20 minutes. Then when they solidified in the fridge they were rock hard. Any idea what temp on a candy thermometer to heat it to instead of just going by time?

    • Meg's Everyday Indulgence November 29, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

      Darn, I’m sorry! I don’t really know what an appropriate temperature would be to cook this at but maybe try cooking it at medium instead or for just 15 minutes. It should still solidify because of the gelatin and then hopefully won’t burn or harden too much. I hope that helps and good luck on the next batch!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,669 other followers

