Cinnabon Cinnamon Rolls

18 Jan

Step 10
Joel absolutely loves Cinnabon but sadly we don’t have them around these parts. So that means whenever we are waiting at an airport or cruising a mall in a new city the hunt is on for Cinnabon (my hunt is for Chick-a-Fila but that’s a whole other story for another time). So when I came across this copycat recipe I knew it was a must try. And I am so glad that we did because they were the best and easiest cinnamon rolls I have ever made.

By now, you all know my debacle with doughs and pastry crusts. Well, this dough rolled out like a dream. Yep, that’s right…a dream. From now on, I will always use this dough recipe for sweet breakfast rolls of all kinds (mmm, now I’m dreaming of caramel rolls and orange rolls).

They were tender, gooey, cinnamon-y, sweet and sticky. Everything you hope for in a cinnamon roll. I think the addition of chopped pecans to the brown sugar/cinnamon mixture would be to die for and I think I will try that next time on half of the rolls (picky Joel doesn’t like nuts). You just have to try these. They melt in your mouth and stick in your brain…I’m still dreaming about them and I made them weeks ago!

Cinnabon Cinnamon Rolls
recipe from food.com

1 (1/4 ounce) package dry yeast
1 cup warm milk
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup margarine
1 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
4 cups flour

FILLING:
1 cup packed brown sugar
2 1/2 tablespoons cinnamon
1/3 cup margarine , softened

ICING:
8 tablespoons margarine
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1/4 cup cream cheese
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/8 teaspoon salt

1. For the rolls, dissolve the yeast in the warm milk in a large bowl.

2. Add sugar, margarine salt, eggs, and flour, mix well (I used my Kitchen Aid for this step).

3. Knead the dough into a large ball, using your hands dusted lightly with flour.
Step 1
4. Put in a bowl, cover and let rise in a warm place about 1 hour or until the dough has doubled in size (I rose mine in the oven after preheating the oven to 400F and then turning it off).
Step 2
5. Roll the dough out on a lightly floured surface, until it is approx 21 inches long by 16 inches wide.

6. It should be approx 1/4 thick.
Step 3
7. To make filling, combine the brown sugar and cinnamon in a bowl.

8. Spread the softened margarine over the surface of the dough, then sprinkle the brown sugar and cinnamon evenly over the surface.
Step 4
Step 5
9. Working carefully, from the long edge, roll the dough down to the bottom edge.
Step 6
10. Cut the dough into 1 3/4 inch slices, and place in a lightly greased baking pan. Rise rolls again until about doubled in size (I placed them in the oven again and let them rise for about 30 minutes).
Step 7
11. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Bake for 10 minutes or until light golden brown.
Step 8
12. While the rolls are baking combine the icing ingredients.

13. Beat well with an electric mixer until fluffy. Spread over hot cinnamon rolls.

Step 9

6 Responses to “Cinnabon Cinnamon Rolls”

  1. easybaked January 19, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

    These look amazing– they actually look like CinnaBon! yum! I’m a Chick-Fil-A addict too…fortunately we have one close :)

  2. Sarah E. January 23, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

    That’s the same recipe we use in my house and it’s absolutely amazing!

    Stopping by from Totally Tasty Tuesday.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Easy King Cake « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - February 17, 2012

    [...] cheese? My final decision factored on the ease of the recipe. For Valentine’s Day I made cinnamon rolls and I didn’t really feel like dealing with a yeast dough twice in a week. Therefore, I went [...]

  2. Birthday Cake Cinnamon Rolls | Meg's Everyday Indulgence - August 2, 2013

    […] batch of cinnamon roll dough (just the dough, not the filling or frosting) 3/4 cup of yellow cake mix 1/3 cup butter, softened […]

  3. Chipotle Chili | Meg's Everyday Indulgence - February 12, 2014

    […] I’m not able to just keep things simple so also on the menu is Chicken Enchilada Soup, Cinnamon Rolls, Southwest Salad with Cilantro Lime Dressing (I’ll be sharing that recipe soon) and a […]

  4. Hannah’s Dedication | Handling the Hensley's - April 3, 2014

    […] to have a big lunch together with all our family and friends. I made chili, chicken enchilada soup, cinnamon rolls, salad and punch. Jessica and Steve made a beautiful and tasty cake. The girl of the hour with all […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,641 other followers

