Buffalo Mac-n-Cheese

13 Jan

Buffalo Chicken Mac-n-Cheese 1
OMG…this is the most amazing meal I have made in a long time! I’m not really surprised considering my love of cheese and pasta and anything buffalo. It really is a dream combination for my tummy. When I first looked at the recipe, I was a little concerned that it would be too spicy for the boys but it was just the right amount of buffalo flavor. I think that the sour cream really helped mellow it out. But be warned, it is spicier when reheated.
Buffalo Chicken Mac-n-Cheese 2
My aunt has been waiting (not so patiently) for me to post this Top 100 recipe after I sent her a picture of it last week. I even got a reminder the other day on my Facebook page that I hadn’t posted about it yet. So here it is Aunt Mimi, buffalo mac-n-cheese!
Buffalo Chicken Mac-n-Cheese 3
Buffalo Mac-n-Cheese
recipe from Brenda’s Canadian Kitchen

7 T unsalted butter, plus more for the dish
Kosher salt
1 pound elbow macaroni
1 small onion, finely chopped
2 stalks celery, finely chopped
3 cups shredded rotisserie chicken
2 cloves garlic, minced
3/4 cups hot sauce (we like Louisiana Hot Sauce)
2 Tbsp. all purpose flour
2 tsp. dry mustard
2 1/2 cups half-and-half (I used milk instead)
1 pound yellow sharp cheddar cheese, shredded (about 3 1/2 cups)
8 ounces pepper-jack cheese, shredded (about 2 cups)
2/3 cup sour cream
1 cup panko (Japanese breadcrumbs)
1/2 cup crumbled blue cheese
2 T chopped fresh parsley

1. Preheat oven to 350F and butter (or use cooking spray) a deep 9 x 13 baking dish.  Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil; add the pasta and cook until al dente.  Drain.

2. Melt 3 tablespoons of butter in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add the onion and celery and cook until soft, about 5 minutes.  Stir in the chicken and garlic and cook 2 minutes, then add 1/2 cup hot sauce and simmer until slightly thickened, about 1 more minute.

3. Melt 2 tablespoons butter in a saucepan over medium heat.  Stir in the flour and mustard with a wooden spoon until smooth.  Whisk in the half-and-half, then add the remaining 1/4 cup hot sauce and stir until thick, about 2 minutes.  Whisk in the cheddar and pepper jack cheeses, then whisk in the sour cream until smooth.

4. Spread half of the macaroni in the prepared baking dish, then top with the chicken mixture and the remaining macaroni.  Pour the cheese sauce evenly on top.

5. Put the remaining 2 tablespoons butter in a medium microwave-safe bowl and microwave until melted.  Stir in the panko, blue cheese and parsley.  Sprinkle over the macaroni and bake until bubbly, 30 to 40 minutes.  Let rest 10 minutes before serving.

7 Responses to “Buffalo Mac-n-Cheese”

  1. Aunt Mimi January 13, 2012 at 11:21 am #

    I am so excited… I’m making it on Sunday! Thanks Megs! Love you (Love you more)

  2. Miz Helen January 15, 2012 at 11:47 am #

    We are going to just love this Buffalo Mac N Cheese, it has all the goodies that we love to make it a great hit at The Cottage. Thank you so much for sharing on our 1st Anniversary Party for Full Plate Thursday. Hope you are having a great week end and come back soon!
    Miz Helen

  3. Desi January 17, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

    This looks awesomely amazing. Soooo buffalo-y. That’s my kinda mac and cheese! I made a buffalo mac and cheese that I loved too… I’m anxious to try this version :)

    • Meg's Everyday Indulgence January 17, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

      Thanks Desi! I saw your mac-n-cheese for the challenge (before I participated) and that’s what inspired me to try it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Super Bowl Roundup « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - February 3, 2012

    [...] Buffalo Mac-n-Cheese [...]

  2. Buffalo Chicken Grilled Cheese {Crazy Cooking Challenge} « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - May 7, 2012

    [...] I managed to narrow it down to about 5 then gave Joel the options since I just couldn’t decide. He requested the Buffalo Chicken Grilled Cheese and I was pretty pleased with his choice. I kind of have a thing for buffalo sauce as evidenced here, here and here. [...]

  3. My 3 Year Blogaversary | Meg's Everyday Indulgence - April 3, 2014

    […] Buffalo Chicken Mac-n-Cheese […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,677 other followers

