Breakfast Burger

6 Jan

This burger is my re-creation of the Sunrise Burger from Perkins which Joel ALWAYS orders when we eat there. It consists of a huge cheeseburger topped with a fried egg, crispy hashbrowns, bacon and a sour cream drizzle. I’m sorry if your arteries clogged just by reading that. I should have warned you. I skipped the bacon on my version if that makes you feel any better. Whaaa? Skipped the bacon? I know, I know. I was lazy and didn’t want to fry up just a few pieces. This is definitely a once in a while kind of meal. I can’t imagine the calories…..

Noah and I opted to go with turkey burgers without all the fixings but I did take a bite of Joel’s burger and it was pretty darn delicious. I especially loved the extra crispy hashbrowns…I’m a total sucker for hashbrowns.  As the pictures show, Noah is a lover of cheeseburgers just like his daddy. That boy of mine cracks me up!

Breakfast Burgers

1 pre-made burger patty
1 slice sharp cheddar cheese
1/3 cup frozen hashbrowns
Olive oil
1 egg
sour cream to taste
1 bakery style bun

1. Grill burger until desired doneness is reached (use indoor grill if it’s too cold outside). While burger is on the grill, cook hashbrowns in olive oil until golden and crispy.

2. Spray a small saute pan with non-stick cooking spray. Over medium heat, crack egg into pan and cook until done then flip and cook until light brown.

3. Place cheddar cheese on burger so that it will melt. Slice bun in half and spread with desired amount of sour cream. Place burger on bottom half then top with hashbrowns and egg. Enjoy!

Recipe linked to Mangia Monday, Tasty Tuesday, Totally Tasty Tuesday, Tempt My Tummy Tuesday.Full Plate Thursday, Friday Food and Fusion Fridays.

4 Responses to “Breakfast Burger”

  1. Miz Helen January 8, 2012 at 9:39 am #

    Good Morning,
    Your little guy is precious! What a great idea for a breakfast burger, I will be trying this. Hope you are having a great week end and thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

  2. carolinaheartstrings January 10, 2012 at 8:43 pm #

    What great pictures. Your recipe looks delicious! Come visit us. We have a terrific crockpot chicken this week.

  3. Mel Tardy January 11, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    okay, that is absolutely the cutest picture for this menu!! Adorable little punkin stuffing that yummy looking sandwich in his face! Love it (and the sandwich looks amazing too!!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,686 other followers

