Sicilian Spaghetti Sauce

27 Dec

With the holidays in full swing for the past two months, I have been bringing you all lots and lots of sweets. I mean lots. And as much as I love sweet treats, it’s about time to get back on our normal track. And what better to start with than some good ‘ole comfort food….spaghetti.

Let me tell you, I have never been a big fan of spaghetti. I don’t really know why, it’s just not my thing. Recently I have been on a mission to change that. After trying a few recipes, I was ready to give up. It doesn’t help that Joel doesn’t really like red sauce either. I decided to give it one more shot and I am so glad I did! This Sicilian Spaghetti is sweet and spicy and the most delicious sauce I have ever made. I recommend doubling the recipe because it freezes well. It makes for an awesome and easy weeknight meal (just thaw it, heat it and throw it over some hot pasta).

Sicilian Spaghetti Sauce
recipe from myrecipes.com

1/2 pound mild Italian sausage
1/2 pound lean ground beef
1 large onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
4 (8-ounce) cans tomato sauce
1 (6-ounce) can Italian-style tomato paste
3 cups water
1/4 cup sugar
1 to 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon dried parsley
1 teaspoon dried basil
1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon ground red pepper
1 cup sliced fresh mushrooms
Hot cooked linguine
Shredded Parmesan cheese

1. Remove casings from sausage, and discard. Cook sausage and ground beef in a large skillet or Dutch oven over medium heat 6 minutes, stirring until meat crumbles. Add onion and garlic, and sauté 4 minutes or until beef and sausage are no longer pink. Drain and set aside. Wipe skillet clean.
2. Combine sauce and next 7 ingredients in skillet or Dutch oven; cook, stirring occasionally, 1 hour. Add sausage mixture and mushrooms. Cook, stirring occasionally, 1 hour and 30 minutes or until mixture thickens. Serve over linguine; sprinkle with cheese.

Recipe linked to Mangia Monday, Tempt My Tummy Tuesday, Tasty Tuesday, Cast Party Wednesday and What I Whipped Up Wednesday.

3 Responses to “Sicilian Spaghetti Sauce”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lady Behind the Curtain » Party Round Up – Dinner (Cast Party #22) - January 9, 2012

    [...] Sicilian Spaghetti Sauce [...]

  2. Sausage Stuffed Zucchini « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - July 20, 2012

    [...] I had some leftover cooked ground sausage that I threw in the freezer a few weeks ago after making Sicilian Spaghetti so I simply thawed it and sauted it with the vegetables. I even made it up the night before so I [...]

  3. My 3 Year Blogaversary | Meg's Everyday Indulgence - April 3, 2014

    […] Sicilian Spaghetti […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,644 other followers

