Homemade Snowcaps

18 Dec

Snowcaps have always been one of my favorite kinds of candy. I don’t know why…they are just chocolate and sprinkles. And I don’t even like plain chocolate. But alas, every time I see them at a store I get giddy and grab several boxes. You don’t see them that often these days so I thought why not make them. I made some traditional ones with white nonpareils and some with Christmas colored nonpareils. They turned out so cute and yummy and were perfect to sprinkle around my cookie trays.

Homemade Snowcaps
recipe from Martha Stewart

8 ounces bittersweet chocolate
1/2 teaspoon pure vegetable shortening
1/4 cup white or colored sugar beads

1. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. In the top of a double boiler or in a heat-proof bowl set over a pan of simmering water, melt the chocolate and shortening, stirring with a rubber spatula until smooth.

2. Spoon the melted chocolate in nickel-size circles onto prepared baking sheet. Cool for 20 minutes; sprinkle with sugar beads. Let nonpareils harden in a cool place for 4 hours before serving. Yield: about 50 candies.

Recipe linked to Tempt My Tummy Tuesday, Totally Tasty Tuesday, Mrs. Fox’s Sweet Party and What I Whipped Up Wednesday.

2 Responses to “Homemade Snowcaps”

  1. Christina December 21, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    These are so cute and festive! Thanks for sharing at Mrs Foxs Sweet Party :)

  2. Michael Ann December 21, 2011 at 6:54 pm #

    Oh, me too! This is what I would always choose when we went to the movies. I know, they are just chocolate but something about them….. These are a great idea!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,588 other followers

