Crunchy Caramel Apple Pie

10 Dec

Ok, so I’m not a fruit for dessert kind of person. I just don’t enjoy cooked fruit, it get mushy and weird….not my thing. But Joel loves apple pie. For the past few Thanksgivings I have made this pie for him with lots of success and raves. Although I am not a fan, the crumbly streusel¬†topping does make it much more appeal. m a total sucker for streusel. My mom took the leftovers to work and two people told her it was the best apple pie they had ever had. Score!

As I’ve said before, I struggle with crusts and dough of all kind. Pie crust is a huge frustration for me. I can never get the edge perfectly beautiful which angers me. While perusing Pinterest one day I came across some amazing decorative pie crust edges that I knew would fix my frustration. I fell in love with the braided crust and knew it was something I hopefully couldn’t mess up. And I didn’t! It turned out so cute. There was a little hiccup because I didn’t roll out the dough long enough to make one braid to fit across the whole pie. I ended up with 3 braids that didn’t match up perfectly when placed on the edge so my mom cut out several little leaves to put in those spots to cover up the imperfections.

It almost looked to good to eat….but only for a minute. In all the Thanksgiving hustle and bustle I forgot to take a picture of a slice of it but you get the gist of the crunchy, apple goodness.

Crunchy Caramel Apple Pie
recipe from food.com

For Pie:
Premade pie crust (two if you are doing a braided edge)
1/2 cup sugar
3 tablespoons flour
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon salt
6 cups thinly sliced peeled apples

Crumb Topping:
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup flour
1/2 cup quick-cooking rolled oats
1/2 cup butter, room temperature

Caramel topping
Pecans

1. Prepare pastry for single-crust pie, being careful not to stretch dough too much.

2. Place single crust in pie plate and trim and crimp the edge or click here for directions for braiding the crust.

3. In a large mixing bowl, stir together the sugar, flour, cinnamon, and salt. Add apple slices and gently toss until they are coated well.Transfer mixture to pie.

4. FOR CRUMB TOPPING: Stir together brown sugar, flour, and oats. Using a pastry blender, cut in the butter until topping resembles coarse crumbs. Sprinkle over apple mixture in pie.

5. To prevent over-browning while baking, cover edge of pie with foil. Bake at 375 degrees Fahrenheit for 25 minutes.

6. Remove foil and bake 25 to 30 minutes more, or until top is golden.

7. Drizzle top with caramel topping; sprinkle with pecans. Cool on wire rack and serve.

Recipe linked to Strut Your Stuff Saturday, Sweets for a Saturday, Everyday Sisters Sharing Sundays, Mangia Monday, Totally Tasty Tuesday, Tasty Tuesday, Crazy Sweet Tuesday and 2 Maids a Baking.

3 Responses to “Crunchy Caramel Apple Pie”

  1. Sue @ Cakeballs, cookies and more December 14, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    That is so pretty, I love the braid, and if you had not said anything the leaves would have never seemed to be hiding anything.

  2. Dorothy @ Crazy for Crust December 17, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    Oh my! This is awesome!! Thanks for sharing on Crazy Sweet Tuesday. :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cinnabon Cinnamon Rolls « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - January 18, 2012

    [...] now, you all know my debacle with doughs and pastry crusts. Well, this dough rolled out like a dream. Yep, that’s right…a dream. From now on, I [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,680 other followers

