Dinner Roll Sandwiches

26 Nov

You can only eat leftover turkey and ham for so long before you revolt. Or go crazy. Don’t get me wrong, I love Thanksgiving and all the food that comes along with it but I just can’t stand leftovers. I suck it up for a day or two but then I just can’t take it. We did a Thanksgiving meal with my in-laws on Sunday and real Thanksgiving with my family so I am totally over Thanksgiving food in its original form. I have been eating turkey slathered in gravy for almost a whole week people. Me? A week of leftovers? I think not. I have been in a constant daze this whole time because of all the Tryptophan. It has to stop.

Thankfully, I recently found a great use for leftovers from the holidays over at Jane Deere (one of my favorite food blogs) and I just couldn’t wait to try it and of course share with you all! It still contains turkey (or ham if that’s your thing) but in a totally different presentation…therefore, making it acceptable. And I always love me a sandwich.

It starts with Hawaiian Sweet Rolls (um, yeah!). Then it gets layered with turkey, cheese, an amazing buttery sauce, the tops of the rolls and more sauce. I also love me some sauce.

Throw it in the oven for a crispy, melty masterpiece of leftover glory!

Dinner Roll Sandwiches
recipe from Jane Deere

2 packs Hawaiian Sweet Rolls
1 lb shaved ham or turkey
½ pound shredded mozzarella cheese
½ pound shredded Swiss cheese

Sauce:
2 sticks melted butter
2 Tbsp. mustard
1 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
1 tsp. dry onion
2 Tbsp. poppy seeds
Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Slice rolls horizontally as a unit – don’t break apart into individual rolls.  Put the bottoms in a 9×13 dish.  Lay meat on top.  Cover with cheese.  Pour 2/3-3/4 of sauce on top of cheese.  Place tops of rolls on top.  Pour remaining mixture over tops of rolls and spread evenly.  Bake for 15-20 minutes.  Watch closely – if the tops begin to brown too much, place a sheet of foil over the top.
3 Responses to “Dinner Roll Sandwiches”

  1. Jennifer @ Jane Deere November 30, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    Hey Meg!

    Thanks for the mention! I’m so glad you like these sandwiches…they’re a big hit in our family!

  2. Miz Helen December 4, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    Hi Meg,
    I have been to several functions where a similar sandwich is served. I always ask for the recipe and have not be given the recipe until now, at last, now I can make them too! Hope you are having a great week end and thanks so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

  3. emily December 5, 2011 at 4:44 am #

    Hi! Wanted to let you know I’m featuring this at tomorrow Tasty Tuesday party. Thanks SO much for linking hope. Please feel free to stop by and grab a featured button! http://nap-timecreations.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,637 other followers

