Apple Oatmeal Cinnamon Chip Scones

6 Nov

Wow, that’s a mouthful. Joel has never been a fan of scones and I have been on a mission to change his mind for quite awhile. And I was finally successful with these perfectly fall spiced scones. He deemed them moist and crumbly and delicious. Ahh, I love when I can convert him to my thinking! I was worried that the apple wouldn’t come through enough but it was just right and gave a nice texture (along with the oatmeal) to the scones. And I couldn’t resist throwing in some cinnamon chips. They also freeze well according to Christina of Sweet Pea’s Kitchen, not that I would know…Joel ate them all before I had the chance.

Apple Oatmeal Cinnamon Chip Scones
recipe slightly adapted from Sweet Peas Kitchen

1/2 cup half-and-half
1 large egg
1 apple, peeled and cored
1 teaspoon lemon juice
1 1/2 cups flour
4 tablespoons sugar, divided
2 teaspoons baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
8 tablespoons (1 stick) cold unsalted butter, cut into 1/4-inch cubes
1 1/2 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup cinnamon chips
1 tablespoon demerara sugar

1.Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper; set aside.
2.In a small bowl, whisk together half-and-half and the egg; set aside.
3.In a medium bowl, grate apples on large holes of box grater. Add one tablespoon of sugar and lemon juice to the grated apples. Allow to sit for 5 minutes, then drain in fine-mesh strainer set over bowl. Reserve juices.
4.In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, stir together the flour, 3 tablespoons of sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon,  nutmeg and cloves. Add the butter and toss with a fork to coat with the flour mixture. Mix on medium-low speed until the texture resembles coarse cornmeal, with the butter pieces no larger than small peas.
5.Add the oats, grated apple and cinnamon chips to the flour mixture mix to combine. Fold wet ingredients into dry ingredients and form the dough into a ball. Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured work surface. With lightly floured hands pat dough into a 7-inch round. With a sharp knife or pizza cutter, cut the dough into 8 wedges.
6.Transfer to a parchment-paper-lined baking sheet and brush the tops with the reserved apple juice and sprinkle with demerara sugar. Bake until golden, about 16-18 minutes. Transfer to a rack to cool slightly before serving.Recipe linked to Mangia Monday, Tasty Tuesday and Totally Tasty Tuesday.

4 Responses to “Apple Oatmeal Cinnamon Chip Scones”

  1. Rebecca November 7, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

    Mmmm . . . I was just thinking this afternoon that I would like to make some scones. These sound delicious. But what the heck are cinnamon chips? Are they like chocolate chips? I’ve never heard of them. Thanks for sharing. I’m going to try this one!

  2. Carrie @ My Favorite Finds November 8, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

    Ok, so I really want to give Apple Scones another try. I tried some last week, and they were super dry and just yucky. Not a lot of taste. I’m going to try this one instead!

  3. Rebecca November 8, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

    I just wanted to let you know that I linked to your recipe from my latest post about scones today. Yummy! Thanks for the inspiration!

    http://peanutbutterandepinephrine.blogspot.com/2011/11/england-where-my-heart-lies.html

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,588 other followers

