Peanut Butter M&M Cookies {12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies}

26 Oct

It’s week 4 of the 12 Weeks of Christmas and today I am bringing you my all time favorite flavor combination: peanut butter and chocolate. Is there anything better? These are definitely not the typical crisscrossed peanut butter cookies but still have a very distinct peanut butter taste. They are soft, fluffy and pretty much perfect.

Noah doesn’t get sweets too often but when we went into the kitchen to get a drink and he spied the cookies on the cooling rack he went crazy. I just couldn’t say no so he enjoyed feeding himself one and making a crumbly mess. Later, he walked into the kitchen but I waited around the corner to see if he was going to come back. He was awfully quiet which usually means he is up to no good so I headed to the kitchen to investigate. And what do I see? He has a cookie in his hand with two bites out of it. Apparently, he is now tall enough to reach things off the countertop. Now I amĀ in realĀ trouble.

Can you believe there’s only 2 months until Christmas. I feel the need to start shopping…NOW. I’m a little obsessive. I’m a planner. I’m a list and to-do maker. I like to get things done early so they can be checked off my list. I like to get my shopping done by December 1st if at all possible. I already feel behind and it’s not even Halloween. Crazy much? But instead of stressing, I think I will eat one of these cookies and watch The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills (ssshhhh….I didn’t just admit that).

Non-Traditional Peanut Butter M&M Cookies

3/4 cup creamy peanut butter
1/2 cup butter flavored Crisco
1 1/4 brown sugar
1 large egg
3 Tbsp. half and half or milk
1 Tbsp. vanilla
1 3/4 cups flour
3/4 tsp. baking soda
3/4 tsp. salt
1/2 – 1 cup mini Christmas M&M’s

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cream peanut butter, shortening and brown sugar until fluffy. Add egg; mix well. Stir in milk and vanilla.
2. Combine flour, baking soda and salt; gradually add to the creamed mixture. Stir in M&M’s.
3. Bake for 7-9 minutes. Let sit on the cookie sheet for about 5 minutes then remove to a cooling rack. Note: Don’t put it too close to the edge of the counter or a little cookie monster may help himself.

Recipe linked to:
Sweet Treats Thursday
Holiday Sweet Swap
Full Plate Thursday
Mangia Monday
Tasty Tuesday
Totally Tasty Tuesday
Tempt My Tummy Tuesday
Crazy Sweet Tuesday
What I Whipped Up Wednesday
These Chicks Cooked
Sweet Indulgences Sunday
Friday Food
Sweets for a Saturday

7 Responses to “Peanut Butter M&M Cookies {12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies}”

  1. Dorothy @ Crazy for Crust October 29, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    I agree; peanut butter and chocolate is the best combo ever. Especially if it includes M&Ms. I’m with you on the planning for Christmas. Usually by now my list is made and color coded but since we’re moving I haven’t even thought about it yet. Yikes! Thanks for sharing on Crazy Sweet Tuesday. :)

  2. Miz Helen October 29, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    Awhh Meg,
    Your little one is just precious! The cookies look so pretty and put me in the mood for Christmas baking. Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday. Hope you are having a great week end and come back soon!
    Miz Helen

  3. Shannon November 3, 2011 at 12:36 am #

    I love this series! This is our first Christmas in CO, so I need to do a lot of baking since my gfs and our cookie exchange are all back home in TX. I’ll be back for sure!

    Thanks for linking up to Momtrends Friday Food!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies Roundup « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - December 22, 2011

    [...] Week 4 – Peanut Butter M&M Cookies [...]

  2. Peanut Butter Candy Corn Cookies | Meg's Everyday Indulgence - October 9, 2013

    […] weeks. Not fun. So, basically I just stirred some candy corn instead of M&M’s into my favorite peanut butter cookies and called them festive. That’s how I roll these days. But I have to tell you, they are […]

  3. Holiday Baking Must Haves | Meg's Everyday Indulgence - December 11, 2013

    […] use it when I bought it but it’s something I use all the time. It’s perfect when a recipe calls for a few tablespoons of wet ingredients. Love […]

  4. Loaded Peanut Butter Cookie Bars | Meg's Everyday Indulgence - May 16, 2014

    […] bursting with peanut butter and two different kinds of chocolate. They start out with my favorite peanut butter cookie recipe then huge handfuls of peanut butter M&M’s, dark and white chocolate are mixed in for some […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,708 other followers

