Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies {Crazy Cooking Challenge}

7 Oct

I am so excited to be participating in the Crazy Cooking Challenge hosted by Mom’s Crazy Cooking! Every month bloggers are assigned a type of food and we have to search for the ultimate version in the blog world. I love reading food blogs all over the internet so it’s great to be able to feature and highlight someone that you think is wonderful. After everyone has posted, you all get a chance to vote for the Ultimate recipe in the link party below.

This month’s ultimate recipe is Chocolate Chip Cookies. In honor of fall and my love of pumpkin, I decided to bake Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies from the lovely Barbara Bakes. Everything she posts sounds and looks totally scrumptious. Her vast variety of desserts, main courses, side dishes and more make me drool!

These Pumpkin Chocolate Chip cookies are incredibly moist and have a cake-like texture. This recipe makes 5 dozen cookies so it’s great if you are baking for a crowd. I halved the recipe because it’s not good for anything pumpkin to be sitting around the house. Way too tempting. The only change I made was to cut the amount of nutmeg in half because of personal preference. I really love cinnamon so I wanted to taste that more than the nutmeg.

I hope that you all enjoy checking out what my fellow bloggers have whipped up in the Crazy Cooking Challenge and make sure to check out Barbara Bakes for some amazing recipes!

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies
recipe from Barbara Bakes
Yields 5 dozen

1 cup shortening
3 cups sugar
4 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla
2 cups canned pumpkin
5 cups flour
2 teaspoons salt
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoons nutmeg
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 12-oz.package chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
2. Cream together shortening and sugar then mix in eggs, vanilla and pumpkin. In a separate bowl mix the dry ingredients together. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix well. Add chocolate chips.
3. Bake 12-15 minutes.

Photobucket

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

Linked to:
Seasonal Inspiration
Sweets This Week
Mangia Monday
Mouthwatering Monday
Totally Tasty Tuesday
Tasty Tuesday
Tempt My Tummy Tuesday
Crazy Sweet Tuessday
Cast Party Wednesday
What I Whipped Up Wednesday
Friday Food
Fusion Friday
Friday Potluck
These Chicks Cooked
Two Maids a Baking
Fat Camp Friday
Everyday Sisters
Holiday Sweet Swap

26 Responses to “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies {Crazy Cooking Challenge}”

  1. BreAna {Sugar and Spice and All Things Iced} October 7, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    These sound scrumptious! Pumpkin Chocolate Chip cookies are definitely a Fall favorite…I’ll have to give this recipe a try. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Carrie @ My Favorite Finds October 7, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    I had thought about posting a Pumpkin Chocolate Chip recipe for the challenge, but I assumed correctly that there would be several others. I can’t wait to try this, as I’ve pinned something similar on my Autumn pinboard. I love pumpkin anything!

  3. Kristi@veggie converter October 7, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    Wow. Those sound fantastic.

  4. Desi October 7, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    I love that you used pumpkin in these… perfect for fall!! I bet they tasted fantastic :)

  5. Angie @ Bigbearswife October 7, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    PERFECT for the fall weather

    • Meg's Everyday Indulgence October 8, 2011 at 9:39 am #

      They totally were! I checked out your cookie too and it sounds so great! I’ve never heard of a skillet cookie…I have to give it a try. I tried commenting on your blog but it keeps giving me an error.

  6. Jey @ The Jey of Cooking October 7, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

    Can’t wait to try these. Your photos are beautiful.

  7. Erin @ Making Memories October 7, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    Oh yum! My kids would absolutely love these!!! Great recipe!

  8. Becca @ Crumbs and Chaos October 7, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    This look fabulous! I love pumpkin anything!

  9. Julie October 7, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    Yummy! I love pumpkin this time of year. I would love you to check mine out, it’s #5. Thanks!

  10. Jennifer October 7, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

    Mmmm nice choice! I have some leftover pumpkin from a cake I made. Hmm..

    Jen
    #17

  11. April @ Angel Foods Kitchen October 7, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

    Awesome, I’m making lots of pumpkin recipes right now, so these are perfect. Your pics look great to. I’m #48 in the challenge. :)

  12. Barbara Schieving October 7, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

    Thank you so much for the sweet compliments! I’m so glad you liked the cookies as much as we do. Your cookies look scrumptious! The crazy cooking challenge sounds fun.

  13. Wende October 7, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

    I love pumpkin and chocolate too! These look fantastic!

    Wende

  14. Krissa October 8, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    How perfect for this time of year! I’m getting all geared up to make all kinds of pumpkin treats in the upcoming weeks…I’ll have to add these to my list! Come check out my Maple Chocolate Chip Cookies: http://www.morethanmundane.com/2011/10/07/maple-chocolate-chip-cookies/ I’m eating some for breakfast right now! :)

  15. Lisa~~ October 8, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    Love all the pumpkin chocolate chip cookies, so perfect this time of year. Yours look wonderful!

    If you haven’t already, I’d love for you to check out my entry, Chocolate Chip Gingersnaps.

    Lisa~~
    Cook Lisa Cook

  16. Patty October 9, 2011 at 7:44 am #

    One of my favorites! Hope you’ll check out mine, I’m #29 the Overnight Chocolate Chip Cookies. I used to make the pumpkin ones all the time. Now I’m craving them after seeing yours!

  17. Miz Helen October 9, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    Your Cookies look great! It is fun cooking with you, I am #15. Hope you are having a wonderful week end!
    Miz Helen

  18. Veena October 9, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    Cookies look lovely!!!I want to try this out:-)

  19. Kayla October 10, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    Yum…pumpkin and chocolate chips go together wonderfully!! And I love that pumpkin makes everything very moist!! Thanks for sharing your recipe! Come check out my entry #34, Hot Chocolate Chip Cookies!

    http://kaylasmalltownlife.blogspot.com/2011/10/crazy-cooking-challenge-2-ultimate-hot.html

  20. Shannon October 12, 2011 at 12:20 am #

    These sound so good! I am loving pumpkin lately, it’s such a perfect fall food!

    Thanks for linking up to Momtrends this week!

    ~Shannon, Food Channel Editor, Momtrends.com

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. { Fusion Fridays 10 . 21 . 11 } - November 9, 2011

    [...] Thru Bugs on My Windshield Fall Mantle from Sisters Sisters Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies from Meg’s Everyday Indulgence Creamy Chicken Stew from A Pretty Life in the Suburbs Pumpkin Pound Cake from Savannah’s [...]

  2. Top 11 of 2011 « Meg's Everyday Indulgence - January 2, 2012

    [...] 10. Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies [...]

  3. monday happenings >>> giveaway winner + more | furniture steals - September 23, 2013

    […] I also made this delicious treat Sunday afternoon, because really who doesn’t love pumpkin chocolate chip cookies? Here is the recipe I used from megs everyday indulgence […]

  4. The Great Pumpkin Cookies | Meg's Everyday Indulgence - October 14, 2013

    […] into oatmeal, be sure to check out some of my other favorite pumpkin cookies here and here. The Great Pumpkin […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,680 other followers

