Apple Crisp

30 Sep

I recently got to get together with the MOPS (Mother’s of Preschoolers) group from my church and we made apple crisp. It took a lot of proding to get me to join MOPS.  I’m quite shy when you first meet me and it takes awhile for me to warm up and really be comfortable with people. Social situations where I don’t know many people make me uncomfortable so I usually avoid them but I finally decided to stop worrying and just go. And I’m so glad I did. I have already made a lot of great friends that are so sweet and pretty darn funny too! It’s so great to have some social time where I can get together with other mom’s and just talk about life, our kids, our family and many entertaining topics.

We had so much fun making apple crisp together and I’m so mad that I forgot to bring my camera to capture some shots of all the ladies peeling, chopping and mixing. We used a recipe from one of the MOPS mom’s and it was so good! It would have been perfect topped with Cinnamon Vanilla Bean Ice Cream.

Apple Crisp

8 apples, peeled, cored and sliced (I used a mixture of Granny Smith, Fuji and Honeycrisp)
1/8 cup granulated sugar
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1 1/2 cups flour
1 1/4 cups brown sugar
1 cup butter, softened
2 cups Old Fashioned Oats

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Place apple slices in a 13 x 9-in. pan. Sprinkle with granulated sugar and cinnamon.
2. Combine flour, brown sugar, oats and butter until crumbly. Sprinkle on top of apples and bake for about 1 hour (mine only took about 50 minutes but my oven seems to cook faster than what most recipes state).

Recipe linked to these wonderful link parties:
Recipe Sharing Monday
Totally Tasty Tuesday
Bake with Bizzy
These Chicks Cooked
Full Plate Thursday
Fat Camp Friday
Friday Potluck
Fusion Friday’s
Seasonal Inspiration
Sweets This Week
Friday Food
Holiday Sweet Swap
Crazy Sweet Tuesday
Tempt My Tummy Tuesday
What I Whipped Up Wednesday
Cast Party Wednesday

10 Responses to “Apple Crisp”

  1. Miz Helen September 30, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

    Hi Meg,
    The only thing that your Apple Crisp needs is for me to be taking a big bite, with maybe some ice cream on top, yeah that would do it. It just looks delicious! Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday and hope you have a great week end.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

  2. Erin @ EKat's Kitchen October 2, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    I often get so wrapped up in cooking that I forget to take photos of the process… or so excited to eat it that I forget to take a photo of the finished product. Your crisp looks stunning. Thanks for linking up with Friday Potluck.

  3. Shannon October 4, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    I’ve always loved apple crisp, my mom would make it every fall for us.

    Thanks for linking up to Momtrends!

  4. Danielle October 4, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    Simple and delicious! Love it! Thanks for linking up to the Holiday Sweet Swap!

  5. Shelly October 4, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

    Aren’t Moms’ groups great? My babies are 14 & 17 yrs now -all 3 of us enjoyed those groups. I am still in touch with them. :) Good for you!! Your recipe looks SO yummy!

  6. Becca @ Crumbs and Chaos October 7, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    This looks delicious! Thank you for sharing this at our Seasonal Inspiration party!

  7. it’s currently in my oven, and it smells delicious!! i subbed a half cup of whole wheat flour for the all purpose, we’ll see how it turns out! thanks for sharing!

  8. Emily December 29, 2013 at 9:12 am #

    Going to try this recipe now!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,677 other followers

