Glazed Carrots

3 Aug

If you haven’t noticed by now, I am a huge fan of broccoli. I would serve it steamed alongside pretty much anything if I could. The husband on the other hand could take it or leave it. And since little man is down for just about anything I figured it was time to branch out on my veggies. Therefore, I present to you glazed carrots.

While growing up, I was always told “cooked carrots will kill you” by my mom. This is what her grandmother always preached to her. We didn’t actually believe this but I also wasn’t taking my chances. I’m pretty sure this is another one of those foods that I claimed not to like but didn’t actually give a chance.

Well, these glazed carrots totally changed my mind. They were sooo good! The sugar adds even more sweetness to the already naturally sweet carrots. I’m pretty sure Noah ate half the batch on his own! This yummy side will definitely be a staple in our home from here on out!

Glazed Carrots
Recipe from Taste and Tell
Serves 4
Total time:  20 minutes

1 pound carrots, peeled
½ cup chicken stock
3 tablespoons sugar
½ teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon unsalted butter, cut into 4 pieces
pepper

1. Slice the carrots on a bias into pieces that are ¼ inch thick.  Combine the carrots, broth, 1 tablespoon of the sugar, and the salt in a 12-inch skillet.  Cover and bring to a boil.  Reduce to a simmer and continue to cook covered, stirring occasionally, until the carrots are almost tender, about 5 minutes.
2. Uncover, return to a boil, and continue to cook until the liquid has reduced to about 2 tablespoons, about 2 minutes.
3. Stir in the butter and remaining 2 tablespoons sugar.  Continue to cook, stirring frequently, until the carrots are completely tender and the glaze is lightly golden, about 3 minutes.  Season to taste with pepper and serve.

One Response to “Glazed Carrots”

  1. Deborah August 3, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

    I’m so glad you liked these! This is still one of my favorite side dish recipes!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,588 other followers

