Pasta Carbonara

11 Jul

I absolutely love this pasta that my aunt forwarded to me many glorious months ago. My mom made it for me shortly after I had Noah so whenever we eat it my mind always drifts back to that time. I love how food can create, evoke and cement memories in our lives.

It’s creamy, cheesy, bacon-y…pretty much what dreams are made of. But with the all those delicious ingredients the calories really start to add up. I have adapted this recipe to lower the calories so that we can enjoy it a bit more without feeling so guilty. I use less butter and 1/3 less fat cream cheese which is reduced from 8 ounces to 5 ounces. Sure, it’s still not the healthiest thing you could eat but it’s better than the original. I personally think it tastes just as good and my husband didn’t even notice a difference.

This pasta tastes very similar to alfredo sauce so if you like bacon and alfredo this is sure to be a new favorite! Sometimes I throw a couple boneless, skinless chicken breasts on the grill then slice them thinly and serve it over the pasta. It’s also very tasty and pretty with some steamed broccoli tossed in or on the side.

Pasta Carbonara
recipe adapted from allrecipes.com

3 cups uncooked tube pasta
6 bacon strips, diced
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 1/4 cups milk (1%)
5 oz. 1/3 less fat cream cheese, cubed
1/4 cup butter or margarine, cubed
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1. Cook pasta according to package directions. Meanwhile, in a large skillet cook bacon until crisp. Remove to paper towels. In the drippings, saute garlic until tender.
2. Add the milk, cream cheese and butter; stir until smooth. Stir in the Parmesan cheese and bacon; heat through. Drain pasta; toss with sauce.

 

One Response to “Pasta Carbonara”

  1. Angie @ Bigbearswife October 17, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    I love Carbonaras!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,640 other followers

